Showing 15 Guides
Showing 22 Databases
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923.
Reference books including dictionaries, encyclopedias, quotations, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific reference titles.
Films On Demand is an educational streaming video resource. It provides access to more than 40,000 quality, curriculum-focused programs from more than 1,000 acclaimed producers, including BBC, PBS, NBC News, ABC News, National Geographic, A&E, and Films for the Humanities & Science.
Teaching resources from the New York Times. Requires separate registration using your GCC email address (see How to Access New York Times inEducation for instructions).
Multimedia-based information literacy resource with tools and videos that demonstrate how to find, evaluate, use information.
Complete online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica, including Merriam Webster's Dictionary & Thesaurus, magazine and journal articles, videos, and notable quotations.
Profiles of countries worldwide with an emphasis on demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental conditions. Includes interactive maps and news articles.
Electronic books and reference books on a wide range of subjects.
Multidisciplinary database including articles from journals, newspapers and magazines, and ebooks.
Electronic reference books, including subject encyclopedias.
Consumer health magazines covering medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare and sports medicine.
Covers hot topics in business, politics, government, education and popular culture.
Kanopy is a streaming media platform that offers a high-quality range of content that includes films, documentaries, and specialized academic content. It is an instructional resource. - - Request License Purchase.
GCC's access to Mango Languages ended on December 31, 2024. Please use the following language-learning tools, available at no cost through your local public libraries:
- Burbank Public Library: Pronunciator
- Glendale Public Library: Mango Languages
- Los Angeles County Public Library: Mango Languages
- Los Angeles Public Library: Mango Languages
- Pasadena Public Library: Transparent Language
Locate books, articles and more in the Glendale College Libraries.
Pro and con articles about controversial issues. Includes topic overview, primary source documents and statistics.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) includes meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.
Interactive practice tests and courses designed to help students prepare for academic and licensing tests. Students must register for their own PrepStep accounts to use this resource.
Peer-reviewed/academic articles in addition to newspaper, magazine, and trade journals from all subject areas.
E-Book reference titles on topics in Literature, History, and Science. Articles, biographies, literary criticism, reports, and primary source documents.
