Films On Demand is an educational streaming video resource. It provides access to more than 40,000 quality, curriculum-focused programs from more than 1,000 acclaimed producers, including BBC, PBS, NBC News, ABC News, National Geographic, A&E, and Films for the Humanities & Science.
Training video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RANXU4NLUJg There are a number of short tutorials (1-3 mins) which can help on specific functions : https://infobase-fod.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/sections/360002415693-Video-Tutorials
With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, the documents in this archive present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. Submit trial feedback >>
Part I of the archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others.
Even within the LGBTQ community though, some groups have not been as well represented, or received as much of the limelight, as the more "mainstream" lesbians and gays. Part II provides coverage of these groups, including LG student groups, Two-Spirit people, the Jewish LGBTQ community, LG Christian groups, and bisexual, transvestite, and transgender communities.
One of the fascinating aspects of the archive is the availability of materials such as oral history transcripts, diaries, and letters that provide a deeply personal and human interpretation of the LGBTQ experience. Some describe life in a community that was less than tolerant of homosexual lifestyles. Others describe the hardships of growing up gay and in the closet, or the difficulties involved in coming out to one's family and friends. Other accounts detail lives well-lived, unhindered by archaic social mores, offering inspiration and a source of pride for future generations. It is these histories that truly help to put a human face on LGBTQ history.
Archive that provides insight on fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources. Submit trial feedback >>
Liberal democracies of North America, Europe, and Australasia throughout the twentieth century have experienced a variety of forms of extremism and radicalism that have shaped mainstream political thinking as well as cultural norms. To comprehend modern governmental and societal systems researchers must understand the environment that created them, their origins, and their adversaries.
Content in this database supports scholars and students answering questions on philosophical, social, political, and economic ideologies as well as on contemporary issues surrounding gender, sexuality, race, religion, civil rights, universal suffrage, and much more.
Provides primary sources that trace the path of women's issues from past to present, capturing the foundation of women's movements, struggles, and triumphs. Submit trial feedback >>
Pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more, this archive provides researchers with valuable insights, focusing on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women's movements, this collection offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society.
Within the archive, fascinating historical records can be found from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.
Global Breaking Newswires
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index