Embedding Library Content in Canvas

GCC Library subscribes to over 80 databases from 30 different vendors, which provide access to millions of articles, tens of thousands of ebooks, thousands of streaming videos, information literacy instruction modules, standardized test preparation, and more for the entire GCC community.

What Can be Embedded into Canvas?

Some of the content in our databases can be embedded into Canvas, including images, streaming video, and auto-graded tutorials. Other content can be linked to from Canvas using permalinks and read, watched, or interacted with on their database platform. See the tabs on the left side of this guide for details about embedding or linking to content in specific databases.

Where to Find Our Databases

Our databases can be accessed through our Databases A-Z page.

Most of the content contained in our databases can also be accessed through OneSearch, the Library's single search box where you can find physical and digital resources owned and licensed by the Library. To see what is not searchable in OneSearch, see What ISN'T in OneSearch? on the OneSearch at GCC guide.

Accessing Databases

The majority of our databases can be accessed without creating a separate account. When connected to GCC campus internet, you can access our databases without logging in. Off campus, you'll be prompted to log in using your Canvas username and password to access the Library's electronic resources. 

Some databases require creating an additional account in order to access and/or download content. See the GCC Library's Databases guide for access instructions for individual databases.

Get Help

If you experience any issues using our databases, please contact us for assistance.