Reference Databases
The GCC Library provides access to several reference databases, all accessible to currently enrolled GCC students for free. Vetted by the GCC Librarians, these sources provide reliable information you can use with confidence to find background information for many topics.
For remote access, you will need to enter your Canvas username and password.
- Britannica Academic
Encyclopedia, Merriam Webster's Dictionary & Thesaurus included.
- CQ ResearcherA database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923.
- Credo Reference
Reference books including dictionaries, encyclopedias, quotations, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific reference titles.
- Gale EBOOKSElectronic reference books, including subject encyclopedias.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) includes meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.
Try Searching Now
Start your search here by entering a keyword or keywords related to your topic into one of these database search boxes. If you're off-campus, you'll be prompted to sign into the database using your Canvas login credentials.
Search Tips:
For two or three-word phrases, use quotation marks around the phrase. Examples:
"social media"
"video games"
To join keywords, use AND between each keyword or keyword phrase*. Examples:
children AND "video games"
"social media" AND teenagers
*- Typing AND to join search terms may not be necessary, depending on the database.
