Newspaper Databases
When you access newspaper articles through GCC Library databases, you won't be prompted to subscribe and pay for access as you would on news websites.
The GCC Library provides access to these newspaper databases:
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)Articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press. National and regional coverage in both English and Spanish.
- Newspaper Source Plus
This link opens in a new window
Articles from more than 860 newspapers, and television & radio news transcipts.
- ProQuest News & IssuesSearch across our ProQuest newspaper databases.
- US Newsstream (Proquest)News sources including newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
- US West Newstream (Proquest)Local and regional news from the western United States.
Searching for Newspapers by Title
The GCC Library has online access to many newspapers. To see if the library has online access to a specific newspaper, start in OneSearch. Find the Journal search and type in the title of the newspaper, for example The Los Angeles Times.
Once you find the newspaper, look under View Online for the link. If there are multiple links, this means the library has access to the newspaper in multiple databases. Make sure to select the link that corresponds to the date range you are searching for.
Once you are inside the database, you have these options:
1. Search with the entire publication. Enter a keyword search, or click on Advanced Search for more search options.
2. Adjust the year, month, and/or date to browse issues.
3. Search within a particular issue of the newspaper (in the example above, in the March 30,2023 issue).
4. Click on the title of the article to read it (the "full-text").
5. Cite the article, email it, or save it.