CampusGuides: Health Education Research Guide: Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

Databases with Peer-Reviewed Articles about Health

The following databases have peer-reviewed (aka "refereed") articles about health and other related topics. These article databases are not freely available via the Web.

To access the database, click on the title. For off campus access, use your Canvas login.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary resource. Includes peer-reviewed (refereed) journals, magazines and newspapers.
Access to more than 4,600 academic journals, most of which are peer-reviewed (refereed) titles.
APA PsycArticles
Scholarly articles from the American Psychological Society’s peer-reviewed journals.
Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
CINAHL Complete
Nursing and allied health journals.
Over 1,300 nursing and allied health journals. Most full textl text.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)
Major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness, hygiene and surgery.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer health magazines covering medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare and sports medicine.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes Lexi-PALS Drug Guide.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)
Journals, magazines and trade publications covering religious issues and perspectives.
ProQuest
Peer-reviewed/academic articles in addition to newspaper, magazine, and trade journals from all subject areas.
ProQuest also includes "ProQuest Ebook Central" - an ebook database.
PubMed Central
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
The PMC archive contains more than 8 million full-text article records spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700s to present). This content includes articles that have been formally published in a scholarly journal, author manuscripts that have been peer-reviewed and accepted for publication in a journal, and preprint versions of articles that have been made public prior to peer review.

Limiting Results to Peer-Reviewed Articles

Most databases have an option to limit search results to peer-reviewed articles only.

In the ProQuest database, that limiters is on the left-hand side:

In OneSearch, the limiters is also on the left-hand side:

Not Sure if it's Peer-Reviewed?

If you're still not sure if an article is peer-reviewed, do a search for the title of the journal. The journal will usually have an "About" page that will indicate if it's peer-reviewed.

Example: Search the title in Google

To find the About page:

Still Not Sure?

Librarians can help you determine if an article is from a peer-reviewed journal. Visit the library in person or contact us online for assistance.

Contact Us

In Library
Come to the Library during hours of operation to get help at the Research Help Desk or Circulation Desk.
Chat
Have a question or need help? Chat with a librarian.
Email
- Send us an email at library@glendale.edu.
- Phone: (818) 240-1000
  - Circulation - Ext. 5586 or 5581
  - Research Help - Ext. 5577
- Make an Appointment with a Librarian
- Schedule an appointment to get in-depth research help via Zoom.
- Library Staff Directory
- See our Library Staff Directory for individual contact information.