Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business

A guide for business databases, books, web resources, and more. Students taking any business-related courses or certifications should start here!

Trade Publications

Trade publications, often published by industry-specific trade associations, are a valuable source of information current trends, issues, management, and products.  Examples of trade journals include:

From Tufts Research Guide.

Industry Research and Outlook

Industry Research looks at companies operating in an industry: market size, who makes the product or service, market share, competition, and how the industry operates. Industry reports, available in databases, print resources, and websites, contain valuable analysis of an industry's operating conditions, driving forces, competitive landscapes, and more. Be aware that many do not cover smaller niche industries and always check the date to see how current the information is.

To Search for Industry Information:

  1. For well-defined and established industries, search databases by using the industry name or classification codes (See NAICS or SIC box on Company Research).
  2. Search resources on companies that provide the products that you are focusing on, then determine which industries they belong to (see Company Research).  Such companies can be identified by searching through directories, trade association materials, company reports, and trade journals.
  3. Search databases for articles and news on issues, trends, and other topic of interest and then identify the industries and companies that focus on these areas.

Remember that:

  • Each source uses its own industry groupings and covers different industries.  Data from one source may not match another resource, both in terms of data and definition of an industry. 
  • Small industries are often reported as part of larger industries in government data and other information sources.  Look for targeted market research to address these markets
  • Quality, availability, and cost of association information varies widely.  Some of it is only available to members, some data requires payment to view, and some data can be free. Use library databases to avoid paying for information.
  • Emerging industries can be difficult to research.  Data may not be available and trends may not have been established yet. 

From  NYPL LibGuide, Tufts Libguide, USC Libguide, and UPitt LibGuide.

Databases

Note: If off campus, use your GCC username and password to get full access to databases.

Websites

Note: You should evaluate any information found on the open web before using in your research. Check out the SIFT method for more.

Glendale Community College | 1500 North Verdugo Road, Glendale, California 91208 | Tel: 818.240.1000  
GCC Home  © 2023 - Glendale Community College. All Rights Reserved. 

chat loading...
chat loading...