Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GCC OER Logo

Z - Retired OER guide

Go to https://campusguides.glendale.edu/oer for Current info

Please be aware that not all material contained in the sites below is fully open. Each site may contain content which varies in its creative commons license or usage permissions. 

Audio

Images

Maps

Scholarly Articles

Video


Open Source Graphic Design Tools (DRAFT) Openv Oregon Educational Resources

Open Audio

Audio Archive (Internet Archive)

Download free music, alternative new programming, Old Time radio recordings uploaded by users. 

Bandcamp (CC)

Creative Commons music. 

FMA Free Music Archive

CC license guide

Freesound

Freesound is a collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds. Browse, download and share sounds.

Jamendo Music(link is external)

Free, independent music.

ccMixter(link is external) 

CC-licensed music

Library of Congress Audio Collections

Search to discover music, interviews, field recordings, speeches. 

NPR Music and Radio 

Streaming resources

Wikimedia Commons(link is external)

Audio samples and sounds.

Open Images

Some sites allow you to search for pubic domain/CC licensed images.

Google Image Search

Using Advanced Search lets you filter for usage rights to locate freely reusable content, but always check.

Flickr

Many images are free to use with attribution. The licensing information is located under the image. Flickr CC limits search to Creative Commons licensed images.

Unsplash

Free photos from a global community of photographers. Attribution only needed, but not public domain or creative commons licensed. 

Freeimages.com

As a user you gain access to hundreds of thousands of high-quality stock photos and graphics. (Membership needed)

Pixabay

A large collection of images to use with attribution, but not all. 

The Noun Project

Icons created by a global community. CC  (PNG files)

Freepik

Free Vectors, PSD, Icons and photos.

Pexels

Pexels provides high quality and completely free stock photos licensed under the Pexels license.

Wikimedia Commons

Nearly 45 million freely usable images and media files.


Finding and Using Free Image Collections on the Web - Michigan State University

Open Maps

Open Scholarly Articles

Unpaywall

Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and make it easy to find, track, and use.

PLOS

Peer-reviewed articles are free to access, reuse and redistribute.

Open Video

Internet Archive

CC licensed and public domain films and video. 

Kanopy

GCC Library hosted streaming media.  Embed links and clips in Canvas or on Web. Access restricted off-campus to enrolled students. 

Open Culture 

Free culture and educational media.

PBS Video

TED-Ed

TEDTalks

Vimeo

Filter by Creative Commons licensed videos.

Wikimedia Commons

Nearly 45 million freely usable images and media files.

YouTube

Filter results by CC-licensed video. 

Site MapLocations | Maps & Parking | Webmail
Glendale Community College | 1500 North Verdugo Road, Glendale, California 91208 | Tel: 818.240.1000 | 
GCC Home  © 2018- Glendale Community College. All Rights Reserved. | POLICE 

chat loading...