Intellectual Property (IP) - Business Administration 101 - Introduction to Business - Cardona

What is Intellectual Property (IP)?

Intellectual property (IP) refers to creations of the mind, such as inventions; literary and artistic works; designs; and symbols, names and images used in commerce.

IP is protected in law by, for example, patents, copyright and trademarks, which enable people to earn recognition or financial benefit from what they invent or create. By striking the right balance between the interests of innovators and the wider public interest, the IP system aims to foster an environment in which creativity and innovation can flourish.

From WIPO.

Get Help with Intellectual Property

Pro-Bono Assistance

Definition: The term "pro bono," which is short for pro bono publico, is a Latin term that means "for the public good. Pro bono generally refers to student provision of voluntary, law-related services to people of limited means or to community-based nonprofit organizations, for which the student does not receive academic credit or pay. via Georgetown Law, American Bar.

Justia Lawyer Search: Glendale/LA/Southern California
Justia provides open and free access to the law, and a platform for the legal community to share their knowledge. Includes listing of pro-bono or inexpensive legal support.
CALIFORNIA LAWYERS FOR THE ARTS
California Lawyers for the Arts [CLA] is a non-profit organization founded in 1974 to provide legal services to artists and members of the creative arts community. In 1987, Bay Area Lawyers for the Arts [BALA] joined forces with Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts-Los Angeles [VLA] to form California Lawyers for the Arts as a statewide organization.
American Bar Association Pro Bono Intellectual Property Resources
Bar Association list of pro bono organizations specializing in intellectual property.
Thomas Jefferson School of Law Patent Clinic
Solo inventors and businesses or non-profits with a patentable idea can receive assistance in prosecuting a patent application with the United States Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO).The Patent Clinic provides patent legal assistance in the following areas: Client counseling,Invention disclosure interview,Patentability search and opinion,Patent application preparation,Patent application filing (administrative fees paid by client),Patent application prosecution to issuance (administrative fees paid by client),Patent application appeals (limited),Patent licensing.
Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts (VLA)
Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts (VLA) is the leading legal aid and education organization dedicated to New York artists and its arts and cultural organizations. VLA strives to protect the artistic community’s livelihoods, businesses, and creative works through access to dedicated legal representation and focused education programs.
International Trademark Association Clearinghouse
The Clearinghouse matches eligible clients facing trademark issues with member attorneys who volunteer to provide services free of charge. A global initiative, it is the only program of its kind dedicated primarily to trademarks.
Copyright Claims Board Law Student Presentation Directory
The Law Student Representation Directory includes clinics and organizations that work with law students to represent CCB participants. The Law Student Representation Directory includes organizations that are able to provide full scope representation, from filing a claim or responding to a claim through the stages of a CCB proceeding.

Grants and Investment Opportunities

Michelson 20MM Foundation
Michelson 20MM is dedicated to improving the educational opportunities and career prospects of current and prospective college students, college graduates, and other potential innovators.Our impact investments provide a structured vehicle for us to deploy intelligent, patient capital to entrepreneurs and for-profit, social impact startups.
Center for Intellectual Property Understanding (CIPU)
The Center for Intellectual Property Understanding is an independent non-profit that raises awareness about the impact of IP on people, business and society. CIPU provides outreach to improve IP literacy and promote sharing.