Basics of Business Management and Leadership
Defining Leadership
Global Leadership and Organizational Effectiveness (GLOBE) project defined leadership as “… the ability of an individual to influence, motivate, and enable others to contribute toward the effectiveness and success of the organizations of which they are members.”
According to the Encyclopedia of New Venture Management, leadership is "leadership is generally a process whereby a person influences others to accomplish a set of goals or objectives within an organization".
Over time, our understanding of "leadership" has moved from control, power, and domination by a leader (1900s-1930) to influence, persuade, and personality traits to exhibit to gain followers (1930s-1940s) to leading in group settings (1950s) to influencing followers to achieve shared goals (1960s) to influencing and inspiring others to support organizational objectives (1970s-1980s). The latest, the 1990s to now, seek out "authentic leadership" where leaders are self-aware, transparent, balanced, and moral based on personality traits and overall behaviors.
Successful leaders are often credited with having high social intelligence, the ability to embrace change, inner resources such as self-awareness and self-mastery, and above all, the capacity to focus on the things that truly merit their attention.
Effective leaders are also likely to share some key personality traits, including sociability, ambition, and curiosity—and these traits may be more relevant to the role than intelligence. Genetics appear to influence leadership ability, due to inherited personality traits, but environmental factors such as education and opportunity play a significant role as well.
From Psychology Today, Practicing Leadership Pg 4; 10-11, Leadership in the New Venture Management Encyclopedia.
Finding Articles about Human Resources
Find articles on leadership and management in the following databases and journals by:
- search by keyword with leadership, "leadership development", management, leadership behavior, leadership learning, "leadership style", etc.
- search by subject using leadership, management, organizational culture, decision making, coordination, strategic planning, etc.
- Business Source EliteBusiness publications and company profiles from Datamonitor.
- APA PsycArticlesScholarly articles from the American Psychological Society’s peer-reviewed journals.
- OneSearchLocate books, articles and more in the Glendale College Libraries.
- JOURNAL: Business ethics quarterly (Online)Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
- JOURNAL: Management International ReviewMost recent 1 year(s) not available.
- JOURNAL: Leadership & Organization Development JournalMost recent 1 year(s) not available.
- JOURNAL: Strategy & BusinessMost recent 1 year(s) not available.
Management and Leadership Books
The Little Book of Leadership Development : 50 Ways to Bring Out the Leader in Every Employee by Stephanie Allen and Mitchell KUSY
Available online. The Little Book of Leadership Development focuses on what really works to motivate others, encourage productivity, and equip future leaders. The book delivers streamlined instructions on fifty practical strategies, including modeling behaviors, sharing information, building accountability, stretching teams, and providing feedback
The Swiss Army Knife for Leaders : A Guide to Leadership with Lasting Impact by Gabriel Anthonio
Available online. Do you want to dive into learning about leadership that has lasting impact, and become a more competent leader yourself? Then this book is for you. Using the tools of the Swiss Army knife – my grandfather’s pocket knife – I offer suggestions to further develop your leadership skills.
The High Impact Leader by Bruce J. Avolio and Fred Luthans
Available online. In The High Impact Leader, Gallup veterans Bruce Avolio and Fred Luthans show you what you can do to develop and leverage your own leadership strengths into positive, lasting improvement for both yourself and your organization. Their findings combined with examples of wellknown leaders in action--such as Howard Schultz, of Starbucks, and Microsoft's Bill Gates--provide guidelines for accelerating leadership development in any environment.
Too many bosses, too few leaders : the art of being a true leader by Rajeev Peshawaria
Available at Verdugo Campus Library: Upper level, Call number: 658.4092 P474t
In this lively and remarkably empowering book, Peshawaria offers readers the opportunity to experience the highest level of leadership training available in the world. Introducing the three core principles he has observed are the foundation of the best leadership––that great leaders clearly define their purpose and values; that nobody can motivate another person because everyone comes premotivated; and that a leader’s job is not to directly produce results but to create the conditions that will harness the energy of others—he details his unique and proven program for achieving leadership excellence.
We Are the Leaders We've Been Waiting For : Women and Leadership Development in College by Julie E. Owen, Heather D. Shea, and Kristen A. Renn
Available online. This text speaks to the changing context of today's women students' experiences, recognizing that their work life goals may go beyond climbing the corporate ladder to include social innovation and entrepreneurial goals, policy and politics, and social activism.
The AMA handbook of leadership by Marshall Goldsmith, John Baldoni, Sarah McArthur, James M. Kouzes
Available in Verdugo Library: Upper Level, Call number: 658.4092 A479
The social leader : redefining leadership for the complex social age by Frank Guglielmo and Sudhanshu Palsule
Available at Verdugo Campus Library: Upper Level, Call number: 658.4092 G942s
Honest to greatness : how today's greatest leaders use brutal honesty to achieve massive success by Peter Kozodoy
Available in Verdugo Campus Library: Upper Level ; 658.409 K88h
The Trainer's Handbook of Leadership Development : Tools, Techniques, and Activities by Karen Lawson
Available online. The Trainer's Handbook of Leadership Development features the proven activities and tools that will involve and inspire participants to develop the skills and characteristics that will equip them to lead us into the future. Karen has brought together a powerful collection of tools, competency models, exercises, and training necessary for developing leaders in today's workplace.
Exceptional Leadership by Design : How Design in Great Organizations Produces Great Leadership Rob Elkington, Madeleine van der Steege, Judith L. Glick-Smith, Jennifer Moss Breen, and Global Leadership Initiatives Inc
Available online. This collection of stories, examples and narratives about exceptional leadership by design provides readers of all levels of experience with tangible, real, and heartfelt examples of how the design process can be applied to leadership.
The Management Mythbuster by David A. J. Axson
Available online. Through contrarian and provocative points of view, real world examples and deep analysis, author and management thought leader David Axson offers over a dozen short, pithy commentaries on the important issues in management today: Short chapters on popular management practices, theories, tools and behaviors.
Yours Truly : Staying Authentic in Leadership and Life by Margarita Mayo
Available online. Yours Truly draws on a host of inspirational examples from executives of multinational corporations to political leaders and sports leaders, as well as more than two decades of research, in order to examine and explain the missing link in research into authentic leadership: how leaders strive for success, excellence and constant renewal, whilst remaining true to themselves.
Latinx business success : how Latinx ingenuity, innovation, and tenacity are driving some of the world's biggest companies by Frank Carbajal, Jose Morey, Sol Trujillo
Available at Verdugo Campus Library: Display - Main Floor ; 658.40908968 C263L