Writing Resources

Schaum's is here--to help you write great research papers The experts at Schaum's are at your service-ready to help you with concise, complete, step-by-step instructions that will make writing research papers a breeze, not a burden. The clear, concise guidelines and in-depth instruction in this book will show you how to write high-quality research papers that will help you succeed academically and in the professional world. You'll quickly learn how to: Select and narrow your topic Evaluate and present evidence persuasively Avoid plagiarism and other novice mistakes Learn from examples, sample papers, and model documentation

Berger's slim, user-friendly volume on academic writing is a gift to linguistically-stressed academics. Author of 60 published books, the author speaks to junior scholars and graduate students about the process and products of academic writing. He differentiates between business writing skills for memos, proposals, and reports, and the scholarly writing that occurs in journals and books.

Getting a message across on paper and presenting a proposal in a clear and persuasive form are vital skills for anyone in business. How to Write Reports and Proposals provides practical advice on how to impress, convince and persuade your colleagues or clients. It will help you: improve your writing skills; think constructively before writing; create a good report; produce persuasive proposals; use clear and distinctive language; present numbers, graphs and charts effectively.Full of checklists, exercises and examples, How To Write Reports and Proposals is essential reading and will help you to put over a good case with style.

Cheeky, original, and decidedly practical to boot, Sin Boldly! is unlike any other writing handbook available. Jammed with sage advice, genuine encouragement, and surprising examples (of how to write and how not to write), this book gives beginning writers and confident students alike an easy-to-follow roadmap for improving one of the most important skills for success. En route to Sin Boldly!-induced, A+ paper bliss, readers encounter such topics as· Choosing a Topic and Telling Your Story ("K.I.S.S.-Keep It Simple, Stupid")· Literary Games (featuring "Francobabble for Freshman")· Choosing a Voice ("Dissing the Prof")· Grammatical Horrors ("A does not equal they")· Common Mistakes ("Hopefully and Other Controversies")

An excellent resource for students who need help with their writing assignments, this guide provides numerous sample papers to help one jump start his or her brain and eliminate writer's block.

A friendly, easy-to-use guide, Writing Research Papers walks students through every step of the research process — from finding a topic to searching the Web to formatting the final manuscript. The seventh edition is thoroughly revised to help students find and evaluate the very best sources amidst the flood of information that electronic searching makes available.

"Bridging the divide between books on thesis/dissertation writing and those on methodology, this unique text treats the quantitative research process - framing analytical questions, developing a comprehensive outline, providing a roadmap for the reader, and accessing indispensable computer and program tools."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

When you're faced with writing research reports and essays, this is the book to turn to for successful - and interesting - models and strategies. Students will find tips and models for writing book reports, social studies reports, how-to reports, persuasive essays, and autobiography, and more. In his successful direct, friendly style, Paul Janeczko makes the process of finding ideas, research, writing, revising, and presenting written work clear in this hands-on guide.

Writing clear, impactful reports is a crucial skill for science students, but few books focus on this area for the undergraduate. Particularly useful for biology students, this text adopts a hands-on approach, using example reports and published papers as models to put guidance into practice. An introductory chapter familiarizes undergraduates with the principles of writing science. Two model reports are then developed, walking students through experimental and observational teaching-lab reports. The structure and content of the Introduction, Methods and Materials, Results, and Discussion are explained, together with tips for the title, abstract, and references. Students are then guided on how to polish their first draft. The last section of the book analyzes two published papers, helping the reader transition to reporting original research. Clearly and concisely written, this text offers a much-needed lifeline for science students facing science report-writing for the first time, and for those looking to hone their writing skills.

The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level--from first-year undergraduates;to advanced graduate ;to research reporters in business and government--learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research. Its chapters on finding and engaging sources now incorporate recent developments in library and Internet research, emphasizing new techniques made possible by online databases and search engines. With updated examples and information on evaluation and ;contemporary sources, this beloved classic is ready for the next generation of researchers.

The Art of Creative Research helps writers take this natural inclination to explore and observe and turn it into a workable--and enjoyable--research plan. It shows that research shouldn't be seen as a dry, plodding aspect of writing. Instead, it's an art that all writers can master, one that unearths surprises and fuels imagination. This lends authenticity to fiction and poetry as well as nonfiction. How do you conduct research? And what can you do with the information you gather? He covers both in-person research and work in archives and illustrates how the different types of research can be incorporated into stories, poems, and essays using examples from a wide range of writers in addition to those from his own projects.

This complete guide was created just for you -- the college student. In this book, you will learn tips for formatting your research paper, as well as how to complete a cohesive, well-structured assignment for any college course. This guide will walk you through the entire process of writing a research paper, from choosing a topic, to conducting your research, to writing and editing each draft of the assignment. You will learn how to properly use the library, as well as tricks for finding relevant and credible articles, books, and online sources. This comprehensive guide then takes you a step further, with information on how to check your work for plagiarism and eliminate it from your paper altogether as you learn how to use your research as a source to support your thesis. Using the step-by-step instructions and writing guidelines offered in this book, you will learn how to manage your time while simultaneously mastering the basics choosing a unique topic, taking notes from your research and incorporating them into your writing, and citing sources.

Anthony Brundage has revised his popular book to render an even more detailed, practical and 'user friendly' tool for students faced with what can be a daunting task: the researching and writing of a research paper or historiographical essay. After an introductory chapter that describes the different schools of historical thought, Going to the Sources becomes a handy manual, helping the reader to identify and access the many sources -- both old and new -- available to historical researchers. Accordingly, this new edition includes a detailed discussion of electronic databases and a list of World Wide Web sites devoted to history.