Skip to Main Content
Need Help? Chat with a Librarian!
Spring 2023 Library Hours
Monday - Thursday : 8 AM - 6 PM (in-person and online); 6 PM - 9 PM (online only)
Friday & Saturday: 10 AM - 2 PM (in-person and online)
GCC Library Website
Welcome to the Background Information Guide!
This guide will introduce you to sources that you can use for background information.
Background information is the foundational information you must know to create a research question or topic. Background information gives you an overview of basic ideas or concepts related to your topic. It also introduces you to the academic language that experts may use to describe your topic.
Start with these Databases for Background Information
Reference books including dictionaries, encyclopedias, quotations, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific reference titles.
Searchable collection of over 500 electronic reference books including dictionaries and subject encyclopedias.
In-depth, balanced reports on controversial issues and current events.
New reports are published weekly.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Pro and con articles about controversial issues. Includes topic overview, primary source documents and statistics.
Electronic reference books, including subject encyclopedias.
Encyclopedia, Merriam Webster's Dictionary & Thesaurus included.
Complete online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Additional features include videos, magazine and journal articles, dictionary, thesaurus, notable quotations, and relevant Web link.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Over 25,000 brief encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Glendale Community College | 1500 North Verdugo Road, Glendale, California 91208 | Tel: 818.240.1000
GCC Home © 2023 - Glendale Community College. All Rights Reserved.