Armenian Heritage and History Month and Genocide Remembrance

A fascinating exploration of art created by the varied Armenian kingdoms that connected the East and West during the Middle Ages As the first people to officially convert to Christianity, Armenians commissioned and produced astonishing religious objects. This sumptuous volume depicts and contextualizes the compelling works of art that defined the rich and complicated culture of medieval Armenians, including carvings, liturgical furnishings, beautifully illustrated manuscripts, gilded reliquaries, exquisite textiles, printed books, and more. Situated at the center of trade routes that connected the East and West during the Middle Ages, Armenia became a leading international trade partner for Seljuk, Mongol, Ottoman, and Persian overlords, while also serving as a powerful ally to Byzantium and European Crusader states. Written by a team of international scholars, with contributions from Armenian religious leaders, this book will stand as the definitive text on the art and culture of medieval Armenia. Published by The Metropolitan Museum of Art/Distributed by Yale University Press Exhibition Schedule: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York (09/21/18-01/13/19)

A brief history of Armenia, first published on the occasion of an exhibition of photographs of Armenia displayed in St. Albans Cathedral in 2002, and revised to include the subsequent decades of Armenian history as well as augmented by an additional section on the history of arts in Armenia.

"From early antiquity, the Armenian people developed a rich and distinctive culture on the great highland plateau extending from eastern Asia Minor to the Caucasus. On that crossroad, they interacted on many levels with civilizations of the Orient and Occident. The emergence of an Armenian principality and then of an Armenian kingdom in Cilicia represented an extraordinary development, as the region lay beyond the bounds of the historic Armenian homelands. Situated at the northeastern corner of the Mediterranean Sea, Cilicia was conquered by the Persian Achaemenians, Alexander the Great, and the Seleucids of Syria in the pre-Christian era. It came under Armenian rule for the first time during the reign of Tigran the Great in the first century B.C. Centuries later, the waves of westward migrations after the collapse of the Bagratuni kingdom in Greater Armenia culminated in the establishment of the kingdom of Cilician Armenia in the twelfth century."

The Armenian Genocide was one of the greatest atrocities of the twentieth century, an episode in which up to 1.5 million Armenians lost their lives. In this major new history, the renowned historian Raymond Kevorkian provides an authoritative account of the origins, events and consequences of the years 1915 and 1916. He considers the role that the Armenian Genocide played in the construction of the Turkish nation state and Turkish identity, as well as exploring the ideologies of power, rule and state violence. Crucially, he examines the consequences of the violence against the Armenians, the implications of deportations and attempts to bring those who committed the atrocities to justice. Kevorkian offers a detailed and meticulous record, providing an authoritative analysis of the events and their impact upon the Armenian community itself, as well as the development of the Turkish state. This important book will serve as an indispensable resource to historians of the period, as well as those wishing to understand the history of genocidal violence more generally.

World War I was a watershed, a defining moment, in Armenian history. Its effects were unprecedented in that it resulted in what no other war, invasion, or occupation had achieved in three thousand years of identifiable Armenian existence. This calamity was the physical elimination of the Armenian people and most of the evidence of their ever having lived on the great Armenian Plateau, to which the perpetrator side soon gave the new name of Eastern Anatolia. The bearers of an impressive martial and cultural history, the Armenians had also known repeated trials and tribulations, waves of massacre, captivity, and exile, but even in the darkest of times there had always been enough remaining to revive, rebuild, and go forward. This third volume in a series edited by Richard Hovannisian, the dean of Armenian historians, provides a unique fusion of the history, philosophy, literature, art, music, and educational aspects of the Armenian experience. It further provides a rich storehouse of information on comparative dimensions of the Armenian genocide in relation to the Assyrian, Greek and Jewish situations, and beyond that, paradoxes in American and French policy responses to the Armenian genocides.

This volume contains previously published material, which narrates and analyzes the Armenian massacres of 1894-1896, 1909, and 1915-1923. Background information and first person accounts of the events are provided as well, to give the reader a more rounded knowledge of the events. Charts and graphs are provided to summarize important statistical information, and timelines are included to help the reader trace the sequence of events. Maps provide details about the areas of contention, and locations of conflicts.

In 1915, the Armenians were exiled from their land, and in the process of deportation 1.5 million of them were killed. The 1915-1916 annihilation of the Armenians was the archetype of modern genocide, in which a state adopts a specific scheme geared to the destruction of an identifiable group of its own citizens. Official German diplomatic documents are of great importance in understanding the genocide, as only Germany had the right to report day-by-day in secret code about the ongoing genocide. The motives, methods, and after-effects of the Armenian Genocide echoed strongly in subsequent cases of state-sponsored genocide. Studying the factors that went into the Armenian Genocide not only gives us an understanding of historical genocide, but also provides us with crucial information for the anticipation and possible prevention of future genocides.

Never before in English, "Armenian Golgotha" is the most dramatic and comprehensive eyewitness account of the first modern genocide. On April 24, 1915, the priest Grigoris Balakian was arrested along with some 250 other intellectuals and leaders of Constantinople's Armenian community. It was the beginning of the Ottoman Turkish government's systematic attempt to eliminate the Armenian people from Turkey; it was a campaign that continued through World War I and the fall of the Ottoman Empire, by which time more than a million Armenians had been annihilated and expunged from their historic homeland. For Grigoris Balakian, himself condemned, it was also the beginning of a four-year ordeal during which he would bear witness to a seemingly endless caravan of blood. Balakian sees his countrymen sent in carts, on donkeys, or on foot to face certain death in the desert of northern Syria. Many would not even survive the journey, suffering starvation, disease, mutilation, and rape, among other tortures, before being slaughtered en route. In these pages, he brings to life the words and deeds of survivors, foreign witnesses, and Turkish officials involved in the massacre process, and also of those few brave, righteous Turks, who, with some of their German allies working for the Baghdad Railway, resisted orders calling for the death of the Armenians. Miraculously, Balakian manages to escape, and his flight--through forest and over mountain, in disguise as a railroad worker and then as a German soldier--is a suspenseful, harrowing odyssey that makes possible his singular testimony.

If you want to discover the captivating history of Armenian history, then keep reading... Two captivating manuscripts in one book: History of Armenia: A Captivating Guide to Armenian History, Starting from Ancient Armenia to Its Declaration of Sovereignty from the Soviet Union The Armenian Genocide: A Captivating Guide to the Massacre of the Armenians by the Turks of the Ottoman Empire The tale of Armenia has its beginnings as a glorious ancient kingdom, one that commanded the respect of nations as mighty as Egypt and Babylonia. As its history takes a turn for the darker, each chapter reads like a roll call of the most famous of figures: Antony and Cleopatra, Alexander the Great, Genghis Khan, Frederick Barbarossa. Armenia saw ancient Rome rise to power; it knew Egyptian pharaohs, the Golden Horde, the Soviet Union, and saw the first invasion of the first Muslim army. For a long and ugly part of its history, Armenia struggled under the yokes of one empire after another: the Roman, Parthian, Persian, Byzantine, Timurid, Mongolian, and Ottoman Empires, to name just a few.

Britain's pro-active policy on the Armenian Question and the standpoints of the British public, and political and civic organizations on the massacres of the Armenian population in the Ottoman Empire in 1894-1896 were widely reflected in the contemporary British press and other media accounts. This volume, which contains more than fifty articles published in major British periodicals in the 1890s, including Contemporary Review, Nineteenth Century, Fortnightly Review, Blackwood's Magazine, and Spectator, presents a snapshot of British public opinion during the height of the Armenian Crisis of the 1890s, as well as rather detailed, and therefore extremely important, factual evidence of anti-Armenian policies carried out by the Sultan's government in the Ottoman Empire, and the response of the Great Powers-- including Britain--to the massacres.

More than a bibliography, McCollum's work also deals with issues of context and culture that will be of interest to ethnomusicologists working in the area of Armenian music. It also includes a discography that spans from classical music to pop and folk. This is the first full-scale bibliography of Armenian music and is indispensable to all who have a scholarly interest in the subject. It provides a firm basis for musicological work on music from Armenia as well as the Armenian diaspora and is a useful guide for scholars in related areas, such as anthropology, cultural history, Sovietology and West Asian social history.

An NYRB Classics Original Few writers had to confront as many of the last century's mass tragedies as Vasily Grossman, who wrote with terrifying clarity about the Shoah, the Battle of Stalingrad, and the Terror Famine in the Ukraine. An Armenian Sketchbook, however, shows us a very different Grossman, notable for his tenderness, warmth, and sense of fun.        After the  Soviet government confiscated--or, as Grossman always put it, "arrested"--Life and Fate, he took on the task of revising a literal Russian translation of a long Armenian novel. The novel was of little interest to him, but he needed money and was evidently glad of an excuse to travel to Armenia. An Armenian Sketchbook is his account of the two months he spent there.        This is by far the most personal and intimate of Grossman's works, endowed with an air of absolute spontaneity, as though he is simply chatting to the reader about his impressions of Armenia--its mountains, its ancient churches, its people--while also examining his own thoughts and moods. A wonderfully human account of travel to a faraway place, An Armenian Sketchbook also has the vivid appeal of a self-portrait.

This volume takes as its starting point the internationally important collection of Armenian illuminated manuscripts in the collection of the Chester Beatty Library, Dublin. The authors have selected over 20 of the rarest and most beautiful manuscripts to tell the history of the Armenian people, their art and literature.

A Turk's discovery that Armenians once thrived in his hometown leads to a groundbreaking investigation into the local dynamics of genocide. Ümit Kurt, born and raised in Gaziantep, Turkey, was astonished to learn that his hometown once had a large and active Armenian community. The Armenian presence in Aintab, the city's name during the Ottoman period, had not only been destroyed--it had been replaced. To every appearance, Gaziantep was a typical Turkish city. Kurt digs into the details of the Armenian dispossession that produced the homogeneously Turkish city in which he grew up. In particular, he examines the population that gained from ethnic cleansing. Records of land confiscation and population transfer demonstrate just how much new wealth became available when the prosperous Armenians--who were active in manufacturing, agricultural production, and trade--were ejected. Although the official rationale for the removal of the Armenians was that the group posed a threat of rebellion, Kurt shows that the prospect of material gain was a key motivator of support for the Armenian genocide among the local Muslim gentry and the Turkish public. Those who benefited most--provincial elites, wealthy landowners, state officials, and merchants who accumulated Armenian capital--in turn financed the nationalist movement that brought the modern Turkish republic into being. The economic elite of Aintab was thus reconstituted along both ethnic and political lines.

A survey of the life of Armenian-Iranians up to modern times, this book concentrates on their recent history in and their contributions to the political developments of Iran, as well as their increased suffering in that country's 20th-century history. The documents included in this volume, translated from the Armenian, Russian and French, are testimony to the valuable contributions Armenian-Iranian thinkers have made to the development of modern political thought in 20th-century Iran.

Double Bronze Winner, 2015 Foreword INDIEFAB Book for the Year Awards Finalist, Best New Fiction Category, 10th Annual National Indie Excellence Awards Finalist, Best New Fiction Category, 2015 USA Best Book Awards Honorable Mention, Mainstream Literary Fiction, 23rd Annual Writer's Digest Book Awards It is 1913 and late summer in the Ottoman Empire. The sun rises, full and golden, atop a lush, centuries-old village tucked into the highlands where the blood-red poppies bloom. Outside the village leader's home, the sound of voices carries past the grapevines to the lane where Anno, his youngest daughter, slips out unseen. She heads to a secret meeting place. She forgets that enemies surround her village. She forgets that her father meets each day with trepidation. She knows only the love she has for Daron, who waits for her as she hastens to him, once again breaking the ancient rules of courtship. Anno and Daron wish for nothing more than marriage and a better day alongside their neighbors, but neither is prepared for the dark, dangerous secret that Daron's father keeps or the upheaval that will soon envelop their village, their land, and their hearts.

"This booklet is targeting the general public interested in the borders of Armenia and especially students of senior schools and institutions of higher education. Using simple and easily accessible language it explains the periodic changes in the borders of Armenia and the main reasons for these changes. The volume presents especially a small collection of important maps made by non-Armenians, part of which could be found in the author's previous works. The last twenty maps have been prepared during and after the establishment of the first independent Republic of Armenia in 1918. It also shows how the borders of the later independent republics of Armenia were often changed illegally, to the detriment of Armenia." -- copyright page.

Awarded the Raphael Lemkin Prize for the best scholarly book on genocide by the Institute for Genocide Studies at John Jay College of Criminal Justice/CUNY Graduate Center. In this groundbreaking history of the Armenian Genocide, the critically acclaimed author of the memoir Black Dog of Fate brings us a riveting narrative of the massacres of the Armenians in the 1890s and genocide in 1915 at the hands of the Ottoman Turks. Using rarely seen archival documents and remarkable first-person accounts, Peter Balakian presents the chilling history of how the Young Turk government implemented the first modern genocide behind the cover of World War I. And in the telling, he also resurrects an extraordinary lost chapter of American history. During the United States' ascension in the global arena at the turn of the twentieth century, America's humanitarian movement for Armenia was an important part of the rising nation's first epoch of internationalism. Intellectuals, politicians, diplomats, religious leaders, and ordinary citizens came together to try to save the Armenians.

"It is absolutely necessary to eliminate the Armenian people in its entirety, so that there is no further Armenian on this earth and the very concept of Armenia is extinguished."--From a speech presented to the Turkish Committee of Union and Progress, February, 1915 Acclaimed author and historian G. S. Graber has crafted a searing narrative of "the forgotten genocide." Using newly available sources, Graber offers definitive proof--denied even today by the Turkish government--that there was nothing less than a centrally organized government attempt to systematically eliminate the Armenian population in 1915. Placing the events of this effort within a broader historical context, the author brings insight and perspective to the political, economic, and cultural upheaval that led to the murder of over one million Armenian men, women, and children.

The first book to chronicle the aftermath of the twentieth century’s first genocide, this groundbreaking work recounts the Armenians’ struggle for justice in the face of fifty years of silence and denial. • First comprehensive account: From 1915 to 1923, the Ottoman Turks drove two million Armenians from their ancestral homeland, slaughtering 1.5 million of them in the process. After an immediate groundswell of support for the “starving Armenians” led by President Woodrow Wilson, the atrocities were wiped from public consciousness. Why has Turkey never been held accountable? This, the first account of the post-Genocide era, explains how and why the event disappeared from the world’s memory and reveals for the first time the full story of the events that conspired to conceal the truth. • Powerful narrative: Children of Armenia blends characterdriven narrative with historical analysis, tracking three central figures—a terrorist seeking revenge, a lawyer seeking reparations, and a lobbyist seeking recognition—to deliver a powerful true story in the tradition of Iris Chang, Peter Balakian, Samantha Power, and Philip Gourevitch. • Timely: From Rwanda to Darfur to Bosnia, there has been much discussion of twentieth-century genocides, the proper U.S. response, and the tragic aftermaths.

Genocide is the deliberate destruction of a national, ethnic, or religious group. While this has occurred throughout history, one of the most well-known genocides is the holocaust of WW II -- Nazi efforts to eliminate millions of Jews, while also persecuting Poles, Rom (Gypsies), and other groups. Before them, the Armenians suffered a similar fate under Turkey. More recent examples of genocidal action are the "ethnic cleansing" that took place under the Serbs in Bosnia and Kosovo; the Hutu slaughter of the Tutsi minority in Rwanda in 1994; the attempt by the Islamic State in Iraq to eliminate the Yazidis; and the mass killing and expulsion of the Rohingya in Myanmar. China's attempt to erase the culture of the Uighurs is a case of ethnocide -- a genocide component that exterminates national cultures. In the America's, too, genocidal campaigns were waged against Native American peoples. Ancient and modern documents are examined in-depth throughout these two volumes, including: Holocaust testimonies The Evian Conference World Jewish Conference Bosnian War Cables Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide Excerpts from the Genocide Archive of Rwanda Collection Trial transcripts Political speeches In-depth chapters provide a thorough commentary and analysis of each primary source document, often reprinted in its entirety. Commentary includes a Summary, Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, detailed Document Analysis, and discussion of Essential Themes. Designed for high school and college students, the goal of these volumes is to carefully study genocide throughout world history, to give students a frame of reference on how to understand and comprehend what has happened in our past, and what to be aware of in the future.

While much of the international community regards the forced deportation of Armenian subjects of the Ottoman Empire in 1915, where approximately 800,000 to 1.5 million Armenians perished, as genocide, the Turkish state still officially denies it. In Denial of Violence, Fatma M#65533;ge G#65533;#65533;ek seeks to decipher the roots of this disavowal. To capture the negotiation of meaning that leads to denial, G#65533;#65533;ek undertook a qualitative analysis of 315 memoirs published in Turkey from 1789 to 2009 in addition to numerous secondary sources, journals, and newspapers. She argues that denial is a multi-layered, historical process with four distinct yet overlapping components: the structural elements of collective violence and situated modernity on one side, and the emotional elements of collective emotions and legitimating events on the other. In the Turkish case, denial emerged through four stages: (i) the initial imperial denial of the origins of the collective violence committed against the Armenians commenced in 1789 and continued until 1907; (ii) the Young Turk denial of the act of violence lasted for a decade from 1908 to 1918; (iii) early republican denial of the actors of violence took place from 1919 to 1973; and (iv) the late republican denial of the responsibility for the collective violence started in 1974 and continues today. Denial of Violence develops a novel theoretical, historical and methodological framework to understanding what happened and why the denial of collective violence against Armenians still persists within Turkish state and society.

Ethnopolitical Entrepreneurs presents the story of the Armenians of Glendale, California. Coming from Argentina, Armenia, Egypt, Iran, Jordan, Lebanon, Russia, Syria, and many other countries, this group is internally fragmented and often has limited experience with the American political system. Nonetheless, Glendale's Armenians have rapidly mobilized and remade an American suburban space in their own likeness. In telling their story, Daniel Fittante expands our understanding of US political history. From the late nineteenth-century onward, Irish, Italian, Jewish, and several other immigrant populations in large American cities began changing the country's political reality. The author shows how Glendale's Armenians?as well as many other immigrants?are now changing the country's political reality within its dynamic, multiethnic suburbs. The processes look different in various suburban contexts, but the underlying narrative holds: immigrant populations converge on suburban areas and ambitious political actors develop careers by driving coethnics' political incorporation.

Combining the historical urgency of The Burning Tigris, the cultural sweep of Middlesex, and the psychological complexity of Bending Toward the Sun, Garin K. Hovannisian's Family of Shadows is a searing history of Armenia, realized through the lives of three generations of a single family. In Family of Shadows, Hovannisian traces the arc of his family's changing relationship to its motherland, from his great-grandfather's flight to America after surviving the Armenian Genocide to his father Raffi Hovannisian's repatriation and subsequent climb to political prominence as the head of the Heritage Party. Hovannisian's articles on Armenian issues, including the Genocide, the Armenian Diaspora, and the challenges of post-Soviet statehood, have appeared in the Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, Armenian Observer, Ararat, and numerous other publications.

The Armenian Genocide of 1.5 million innocent Armenians was carried out by the Ottoman Empire (modern-day Turkey) from 1915 to 1923. This book is a recollection of experiences and stories of those Armenians who survived recalled by their descendants.Turkey denies responsibility for the Armenian Genocide, which is why it is referred to as the Forgotten Genocide. In 2019, the United States Congress voted to officially recognize the Armenian Genocide, and also voted to formally reject all forms of denial accusations. Armenians around the world remember the Armenian Genocide every year on April 24th.The official symbol of the Armenian Genocide is the Forget-Me-Not Flower.

Unlike the Holocaust, Rwanda, Cambodia, or Armenia, scant attention has been paid to the human tragedies analyzed in this book. From German Southwest Africa (now Namibia), Burundi, and eastern Congo to Tasmania, Tibet, and Kurdistan, from the mass killings of the Roms by the Nazis to the extermination of the Assyrians in Ottoman Turkey, the mind reels when confronted with the inhuman acts that have been consigned to oblivion. Forgotten Genocides: Oblivion, Denial, and Memory gathers eight essays about genocidal conflicts that are unremembered and, as a consequence, understudied. The contributors, scholars in political science, anthropology, history, and other fields, seek to restore these mass killings to the place they deserve in the public consciousness. Remembrance of long forgotten crimes is not the volume's only purpose--equally significant are the rich quarry of empirical data offered in each chapter, the theoretical insights provided, and the comparative perspectives suggested for the analysis of genocidal phenomena. While each genocide is unique in its circumstances and motives, the essays in this volume explain that deliberate concealment and manipulation of the facts by the perpetrators are more often the rule than the exception, and that memory often tends to distort the past and blame the victims while exonerating the killers.

Armenian Aram Haigaz was only 15 when he lost his father, brothers, many relatives and neighbors, all killed or dead of starvation when enemy soldiers surrounded their village. He and his mother were put into a forced march and deportation of Armenians into the Turkish desert, part of the systematic destruction of the largely Christian Armenian population in 1915 by the Ottoman Empire. His mother urged Aram to convert to Islam in order to survive, and on the fourth day of the march, a Turk agreed to take this young convert into his household. Aram spent four long years living as a slave, servant and shepherd among Kurdish tribes, slowly gaining his captors' trust. He grew from a boy to a man in these years and his narrative offers readers a remarkable coming of age story as well as a valuable eyewitness to history. Haigaz was able to escape to the United States in 1921.

Genocide occurs in every time period and on every continent. Using the 1948 U.N. definition of genocide as its departure point, this book examines the main episodes in the history of genocide from the beginning of human history to the present. Norman M. Naimark lucidly shows that genocide bothchanges over time, depending on the character of major historical periods, and remains the same in many of its murderous dynamics. He examines cases of genocide as distinct episodes of mass violence, but also in historical connection with earlier episodes.Unlike much of the literature in genocide studies, Naimark argues that genocide can also involve the elimination of targeted social and political groups, providing an insightful analysis of communist and anti-communist genocide. He pays special attention to settler (sometimes colonial) genocide as asubject of major concern, illuminating how deeply the elimination of indigenous peoples, especially in Africa, South America, and North America, influenced recent historical developments. At the same time, the "classic" cases of genocide in the twentieth Century - the Armenian Genocide, theHolocaust, Rwanda, and Bosnia - are discussed, together with recent episodes in Darfur and Congo.

Genocide and Gender in the Twentieth Century brings together a collection of some of the finest genocide studies scholars in North America and Europe to examine gendered discourses, practices and experiences of ethnic cleansing and genocide in the 20th century. It includes essays focusing on the genocide in Rwanda, the Armenian genocide in the Ottoman Empire, the Holocaust and ethnic cleansing and genocide in the former Yugoslavia. The book looks at how historically- and culturally-specific ideas about reproduction, biology, and ethnic, national, racial and religious identity contributed to the possibility for and the unfolding of genocidal sexual violence, including mass rape. The book also considers how these ideas, in conjunction with discourses of femininity and masculinity, and understandings of female and male identities, contributed to perpetrators' tools and strategies for ethnic cleansing and genocide, as well as victims' experiences of these processes. This is an ideal text for any student looking to further understand the crucial topic of gender in genocide studies.

The Great Game of Genocide addresses the origins, development and aftermath of the Armenian genocide in a wide-ranging reappraisal based on primary and secondary sources from all the major parties involved. Rejecting the determinism of many influential studies, and discarding polemics on allsides, it founds its interpretation of the genocide in the interaction between the Ottoman empire in its decades of terminal decline, the self-interested policies of the European imperial powers, and the agenda of some Armenian nationalists in and beyond Ottoman territory. Particular attention ispaid to the international context of the process of ethnic polarization that culminated in the massive destruction of 1912-23, and especially the obCredo Referenceon of the Armenian community in 1915-16.The opening chapters of the book examine the relationship between the great power politics of the 'eastern question' from 1774, the narrower politics of the 'Armenian question' from the mid-nineteenth century, and the internal Ottoman questions of reforming the complex social and ethnic order underintense external pressure. Later chapters include detailed case studies of the role of Imperial Germany during the First World War (reaching conclusions markedly different to the prevailing orthodoxy of German complicity in the genocide); the wartime Entente and then the uncomfortable postwarAnglo-French axis; and American political interest in the Middle East in the interwar period which led to a policy of refusing to recognize the genocide.

Hagop: An Armenian Genocide Survivor's Journey to Freedom recounts the life of Hagop Kharpertian, the sole survivor in his family of the Armenian Genocide of 1915. Written by his son in the form of a memoir, covering nearly a century and spanning locales from Asia Minor and the Middle East to Europe and the United States, Hagop represents the odyssey of one man's lifelong struggle and tenacity: the Genocide and his miraculous but bitter childhood survival; the uncertain and difficult years of transition from Malatia, his birthplace in Turkey, to Asnieres, his home in France; and the surprising decision after WWII to settle and raise a family in the United States.

Contains for than 850 Recipes for Armenian and International Cuisine. Expanded Armenian edition.

A definitive history of the 20th century's first major genocide on its 100th anniversary Starting in early 1915, the Ottoman Turks began deporting and killing hundreds of thousands of Armenians in the first major genocide of the twentieth century. By the end of the First World War, the number of Armenians in what would become Turkey had been reduced by 90 percent--more than a million people. A century later, the Armenian Genocide remains controversial but relatively unknown, overshadowed by later slaughters and the chasm separating Turkish and Armenian interpretations of events. In this definitive narrative history, Ronald Suny cuts through nationalist myths, propaganda, and denial to provide an unmatched account of when, how, and why the atrocities of 1915-16 were committed. Drawing on archival documents and eyewitness accounts, this is an unforgettable chronicle of a cataclysm that set a tragic pattern for a century of genocide and crimes against humanity.

rowing up, Dawn MacKeen heard from her mother how her grandfather Stepan miraculously escaped from the Turks during the Armenian genocide of 1915, when more than one million people--half the Armenian population--were killed. In The Hundred-Year Walk MacKeen alternates between Stepan's courageous account, drawn from his long-lost journals, and her own story as she attempts to retrace his steps, setting out alone to Turkey and Syria, shadowing her resourceful, resilient grandfather across a landscape still rife with tension. Dawn uses his journals to guide her to the places he was imperiled and imprisoned and the desert he crossed with only half a bottle of water. Their shared story is a testament to family, to home, and to the power of the human spirit to transcend the barriers of religion, ethnicity, and even time itself.

Powerful accounts by genocide survivors, a journalist seeking to bear witness to their pain.Darfuri refugee camps in Chad, Kigali in Rwanda, and the ruins of ancient villages in Turkey -- all visited by genocide, all still reeling in its wake. In Journey through Genocide, Raffy Boudjikanian travels to communities that have survived genocide to understand the legacy of this most terrible of crimes against humanity.In this era of ethnic and religious wars, mass displacements, and forced migrations, Boudjikanian looks back at three humanitarian crises. In Chad, meet families displaced by massacres in the Darfur region of neighbouring Sudan, their ordeal still raw. In Rwanda, meet a people struggling with justice and reconciliation. And in Turkey, explore what it means to still be afraid a century after the author's own ancestors were caught in the Armenian Genocide of 1915.Clear-eyed and compassionate, Boudjikanian breathes life into horrors that too often seem remote.

Turkey's bid to join the European Union has lent new urgency to the issue of the Armenian Genocide as differing interpretations of the genocide are proving to be a major reason for the delay of the its accession. This book provides vital background information and is a prime source of legal evidence and authentic Turkish eyewitness testimony of the intent and the crime of genocide against the Armenians. After a long and painstaking effort, the authors, one an Armenian, the other a Turk, generally recognized as the foremost experts on the Armenian Genocide, have prepared a new, authoritative translation and detailed analysis of the Takvim-i Vekâyi, the official Ottoman Government record of the Turkish Military Tribunals concerning the crimes committed against the Armenians during World War I. The authors have compiled the documentation of the trial proceedings for the first time in English and situated them within their historical and legal context. These documents show that Wartime Cabinet ministers, Young Turk party leaders, and a number of others inculpated in these crimes were court-martialed by the Turkish Military Tribunals in the years immediately following World War I. Most were found guilty and received sentences ranging from prison with hard labor to death. In remarkable contrast to Nuremberg, the Turkish Military Tribunals were conducted solely on the basis of existing Ottoman domestic penal codes.

This is the third publication, the first and second editions being in Eastern and Western Armenian, respectively. The book is divided into two parts. Part I covers Komitas Vartabed's life story, education, religious life, and prolific music career up to 1915. Part II covers his state of mind and psychiatric hospitalizations after 1915. There is a popular belief that Komitas went "mad" after the Great Crime of 1915. The book challenges this belief. Komitas being a very sensitive and bright artist, understood the impact of the tragedy on the Armenian people and exhibited symptoms we now refer to as Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) which is considered a natural reaction to his experiences and which was not recognized as such in 1916. He was wrongfully committed to a Turkish military psychiatric hospital, then sent to a psychiatric hospital in Paris, and later to an asylum for hopeless mental patients. The diagnoses varied according to the circumstances. It is significant that the psychiatrist who knew him for 13 years wrote, "I was forgetting the diagnosis; I think they said ... but since this patient never says a word, it is hard to know him." Komitas's expressed anger and silence which were interpreted as symptoms of his "madness" at the time (while Armenians are still coping with the trauma of this tragedy).

An ode to Armenian food and culture, and the UNESCO-recognized bread of Armenia, Lavash. This cookbook not only reveals how to make the ubiquitous and doable flatbread lavash, the UNESCO-recognized bread of Armenia, but also shares 60+ recipes of what to eat with it, from soups and salads to hearty stews paired with lots of fresh herbs. Stunning photography and essays provide an insider's look at Armenia, a small but fascinating country comprising dramatic mountains, sun-drenched fields, and welcoming people. With influences from the Middle East and the Mediterranean as well as from Russia, the food of Armenia is the next cuisine to explore for people who want to dig deeper into the traditions formed at the crossroads between the East and West. Fans of cookbook best sellers like Yotam Ottolenghi's Jerusalem and Ottolenghi will love exploring the Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, and Russian influences in Lavash. * For both armchair travelers and home cooks, this recipe book is as enticing in the reading as its recipes are to the palate * With growing interest in fermentation and the medical benefits of a Mediterranean diet, Armenian food offers a new take on healthy cookbooks and cooking.

The Lions of Marash is an eye-witness account by an American Near East Relief official of the tragic events which resulted in the annihilation of the Armenian population of Marash, in Central Anatolia, following World War I. On 10 February 1920, the French garrison at Marash withdrew abruptly under cover of darkness, thus abandoning more than twenty thousand Armenians to the Turkish Nationalist forces. The French pullout caused considerable embarrassment in Paris and roused a storm of angry protest in England and the United States, but for the Armenians of Marash, and all of Cilicia, it led to renewed massacre and to final exodus. American philanthropy administered through Near East Relief, successor organization to the American Committee for Relief in the Near East, saved thousands of starving Armenian women and children from Turkish marauders. Workshops and other rehabilitative establishments built by ACRNE and NER slightly mitigated the bitter disappointments arising from the American refusal to ensure the Armenian people a collective future by accepting a protective mandate over the independent Armenian state that had been sanctioned by the Paris Peace Conference. In Cilicia NER worked among the repatriates for four years and, after the total Armenian exodus in 1922, attempted to assist the refugee throngs to resettle in Syria, Lebanon, Palestine, and other lands of the Middle East.

Why did the Armenian genocide erupt in Turkey in 1915, only seven years after the Armenian minority achieved civil equality for the first time in the history of the Ottoman Empire?  How can we explain the Rwandan genocide occurring in 1994, after decades of relative peace and even cooperation between the Hutu majority and the Tutsi minority? Addressing the question of how the risk of genocide develops over time, On the Path to Genocide contributes to a better understand why genocide occurs when it does. It provides a comprehensive and comparative historical analysis of the factors that led to the 1915 Armenian genocide and the 1994 genocide in Rwanda, using fresh sources and perspectives that yield new insights into the history of the Armenian and Rwandan peoples. Finally, it also presents new research into constraints that inhibit genocide, and how they can be utilized to attempt the prevention of genocide in the future. 

A masterful account of the assassins who hunted down the perpetrators of the Armenian Genocide. In 1921, a tightly knit band of killers set out to avenge the deaths of almost one million victims of the Armenian Genocide. They were a humble bunch: an accountant, a life insurance salesman, a newspaper editor, an engineering student, and a diplomat. Together they formed one of the most effective assassination squads in history. They named their operation Nemesis, after the Greek goddess of retribution. The assassins were survivors, men defined by the massive tragedy that had devastated their people. With operatives on three continents, the Nemesis team killed six major Turkish leaders in Berlin, Constantinople, Tiflis, and Rome, only to disband and suddenly disappear. The story of this secret operation has never been fully told, until now. Eric Bogosian goes beyond simply telling the story of this cadre of Armenian assassins by setting the killings in the context of Ottoman and Armenian history, as well as showing in vivid color the era's history, rife with political fighting and massacres. Casting fresh light on one of the great crimes of the twentieth century and one of history's most remarkable acts of vengeance, Bogosian draws upon years of research and newly uncovered evidence. Operation Nemesis is the result -- both a riveting read and a profound examination of evil, revenge, and the costs of violence.

In Passage to Ararat, which received the National Book Award in 1976, Michael J. Arlen goes beyond the portrait of his father, the famous Anglo-Armenian novelist of the 1920s, that he created in Exiles to try to discover what his father had tried to forget: Armenia and what it meant to be an Armenian, a descendant of a proud people whom conquerors had for centuries tried to exterminate. But perhaps most affectingly, Arlen tells a story as large as a whole people yet as personal as the uneasy bond between a father and a son, offering a masterful account of the affirmation and pain of kinship.

This book explores the genealogy of the concept of 'Medz Yeghern' ('Great Crime'), the Armenian term for the mass murder and ethnic cleansing of the Armenian ethno-religious group in the Ottoman Empire between the years 1915-1923. Widely accepted by historians as one of the classical cases of genocide in the 20th century, ascribing the right definition to the crime has been a source of contention and controversy in international politics. Vartan Matiossian here draws upon extensive research based on Armenian sources, neglected in much of the current historiography, as well as other European languages in order to trace the development of the concepts pertaining to mass killing and genocide of Armenians from the ancient to the modern periods. Beginning with an analysis of the term itself, he shows how the politics of its use evolved as Armenians struggled for international recognition of the crime after 1945, in the face of Turkish protest. Taking a combined historical, philological, literary and political perspective, the book is an insightful exploration of the politics of naming a catastrophic historical event, and the competitive nature of national collective memories.

In 1993, as a 23-year-old correspondent covering the wars in the Balkans, I was initially comforted by the roar of NATO planes flying overhead. President Clinton and other western leaders had sent the planes to monitor the Bosnian war, which had killed almost 200,000 civilians. But it soon became clear that NATO was unwilling to target those engaged in brutal "ethnic cleansing." American statesmen described Bosnia as "a problem from hell," and for three and a half years refused to invest the diplomatic and military capital needed to stop the murder of innocents. In Rwanda, around the same time, some 800,000 Tutsi and opposition Hutu were exterminated in the swiftest killing spree of the twentieth century. Again, the United States failed to intervene. This time U.S. policy-makers avoided labeling events "genocide" and spearheaded the withdrawal of UN peacekeepers stationed in Rwanda who might have stopped the massacres underway. Whatever America's commitment to Holocaust remembrance (embodied in the presence of the Holocaust Museum on the Mall in Washington, D.C.), the United States has never intervened to stop genocide. This book is an effort to understand why. While the history of America's response to genocide is not an uplifting one, "A Problem from Hell" tells the stories of countless Americans who took seriously the slogan of "never again" and tried to secure American intervention.

The Resistance Network is the history of an underground network of humanitarians, missionaries, and diplomats in Ottoman Syria who helped save the lives of thousands during the Armenian Genocide. Khatchig Mouradian challenges depictions of Armenians as passive victims of violence and subjects of humanitarianism, demonstrating the key role they played in organizing a humanitarian resistance against the destruction of their people. Piecing together hundreds of accounts, official documents, and missionary records, Mouradian presents a social history of genocide and resistance in wartime Aleppo and a network of transit and concentration camps stretching from Bab to Ras ul-Ain and Der Zor. He ultimately argues that, despite the violent and systematic mechanisms of control and destruction in the cities, concentration camps, and massacre sites in this region, the genocide of the Armenians did not progress unhindered--unarmed resistance proved an important factor in saving countless lives.

Shines long-overdue light on the heroic individuals who took action in the face of the Armenian genocide. This book tells the stories of the Muslims, Christians, Jews and others who made a courageous stand against the mass slaughter of Ottoman Armenians in 1915, the first modern genocide. Foreigners and Ottomans alike ran considerable risks to bear witness and rescue victims, sometimes sacrificing their lives.  Diplomats, humanitarians, missionaries, lawyers and other visitors to the Empire stood up, including Tolstoy's daughter, Alexandra; Raphael Lemkin, the jurist who first established genocide as an international crime; and the polar explorer Fridtjof Nansen, who recognised and relieved the plight of stateless Armenian refugees. Ottoman subjects--from officials and officers to ordinary townspeople and villagers--faced near-certain death for their entire family by resisting orders and helping Armenians.  Unlike the Righteous of the Holocaust, these heroes have been systematically ignored and erased--a major injustice. Based on fresh research, and hoping to repay a moral debt to Ottoman Muslims who braved everything to rescue the authors' forebears, this book is an important, moving testament to a grievously overlooked aspect of the Armenian tragedy.

"Turkey's pre-World War I `final solution' to its Armenian minority [is recounted in this] illuminating memoir of a survivor remarkable for her unwavering faith in life."--School Library Journal.

The persecution and suffering of the Armenian people, a religious and cultural minority in the Ottoman Empire, reached a peak in the era of World War I at the hands of the Turks. Between 1915 and 1925 as many as 1.5 million Armenian men, women, and children died in Ottoman Turkey, victims of execution, starvation, and death marches to the Syrian desert. In "Starving Armenians," Merrill Peterson explores the American response to these atrocities, beginning with the initial reports to President Wilson from his Ambassador to the Ottoman Empire, Henry Morgenthau, who described Turkey as "a place of horror." The West gradually began to take notice. As the New York Times carried stories about the "slow massacre of a race," public outrage over this tragedy led to an unprecedented philanthropic crusade spearheaded by Near East Relief, an organization rooted in Protestant missionary endeavors in the Near East and dedicated to saving the survivors of the first genocide of the twentieth century. The book also addresses the Armenian aspirations for an independent republic under American auspices; these hopes went unfulfilled in the peacemaking after the war and ended altogether when Armenia was absorbed into the Soviet Union.

This is the autobiography of Sarkis Balabanian (1982-1963) also know as Balaban Khoja.He described your life in the cities of Aintab, Kessab and Aleppo.

Between 1915 and 1923, over one million Armenians died, victims of a genocidal campaign that is still denied by the Turkish government. Thousands of other Armenians suffered torture, brutality, deportation. Yet their story has received scant attention. Through interviews with a hundred elderly Armenians, Donald and Lorna Miller give the "forgotten genocide" the hearing it deserves. Survivors raise important issues about genocide and about how people cope with traumatic experience. Much here is wrenchingly painful, yet it also speaks to the strength of the human spirit.

A young Armenian-American goes to Turkey in a "love thine enemy" experiment that becomes a transformative reflection on how we use-and abuse-our personal histories Meline Toumani grew up in a close-knit Armenian community in New Jersey where Turkish restaurants were shunned and products made in Turkey were boycotted. The source of this enmity was the Armenian genocide of 1915 at the hands of the Ottoman Turkish government, and Turkey's refusal to acknowledge it. A century onward, Armenian and Turkish lobbies spend hundreds of millions of dollars to convince governments, courts and scholars of their clashing versions of history. Frustrated by her community's all-consuming campaigns for genocide recognition, Toumani leaves a promising job atThe New York Times and moves to Istanbul. Instead of demonizing Turks, she sets out to understand them, and in a series of extraordinary encounters over the course of four years, she tries to talk about the Armenian issue, finding her way into conversations that are taboo and sometimes illegal.

This diary is the "Ann Frank" of the Armenian Genocide, 1915. It was written by a child survivor of the Armenian Genocide between 1915-1919. The original book was published in Armenian in 1945, when the author came to the United States.

In this meditation on loss, inheritance, and survival, renowned historian Harry Harootunian explores the Armenian genocide's multigenerational afterlives that remain at the heart of the Armenian diaspora by sketching the everyday lives of his parents, who escaped the genocide in the 1910s.

Using simple and easily accessible language, this book explains the periodic changes in the borders of Armenia and Karabakh and the main reasons for these changes. It also shows how the independent Republic of Artsakh was created.

A collection of essays about Armenian identity and belonging in the diaspora. In the century since the Armenian Genocide, Armenian survivors and their descendants have written of a vast range of experiences using storytelling and activism, two important aspects of Armenian culture. Wrestling with questions of home and self, diasporan Armenian writers bear the burden of repeatedly telling their history, as it remains widely erased and obfuscated. Telling this history requires a tangled balance of contextualizing the past and reporting on the present, of respecting a culture even while feeling lost within it. We Are All Armenian brings together established and emerging Armenian authors to reflect on the complications of Armenian ethnic identity today. These personal essays elevate diasporic voices that have been historically silenced inside and outside of their communities, including queer, multiracial, and multiethnic writers. The eighteen contributors to this contemporary anthology explore issues of displacement, assimilation, inheritance, and broader definitions of home.

My journey to a lost homeland told through 11 poems I wrote about what I witnessed, felt, and learned on my trip to Western Armenia (present-day Eastern Turkey) in search of a connection to the homeland of my ancestors, now in ruin. You need to read to perhaps find that hope still exists in loss.

Armenian Ancient Religion Paganism, explores the intriguing world of Armenian paganism, shedding light on the religious beliefs, rituals, deities, and cultural practices of ancient Armenians before the advent of Christianity, the first country in the world. This book provides a comprehensive and engaging overview of Armenian paganism, offering readers a deeper understanding of this ancient belief system.

Discover the Heart of Armenian Cuisine: A Culinary Journey Through the Land of Apricots 100 meticulously crafted recipes: Immerse yourself in the rich flavors of Armenia with 100 carefully selected recipes, organized by region to showcase the diverse culinary traditions from the Ararat Valley to the shores of Lake Sevan. High-quality photos: Experience the vibrant colors and textures of Armenian cuisine through stunning, high-resolution photographs accompanying each recipe, bringing the dishes to life before you even step into the kitchen. Easy instructions: Recreate authentic Armenian dishes with confidence using our clear, step-by-step instructions adapted for American and European measurements, ensuring a seamless cooking experience no matter where you call home. Explore Armenia's culinary landscape: Journey from the bustling streets of Yerevan to the ancient monasteries of Geghard, uncovering the unique flavors and techniques that define each region's signature dishes. Ingredient solutions: Overcome the challenge of finding specialty ingredients with our provided substitutions, allowing you to capture the essence of Armenian flavors without compromising on authenticity or taste.

In the first edition of The Big Book Of Armenian Songs, you'll find over 200 songs written by Armenian composers between the 18th and 20th centuries, as well as folk songs transcribed by Komitas and his students. For each song, there are sheet music and song lyrics available, both in Armenian and transliterated into English, so that non-Armenian speakers can also perform the songs. A music lover will certainly find a lot of familiar melodies and tunes, as well as enjoy discovering some hidden musical gems that they might not have known existed. There are more than 350 pages in this volume filled with favorite melodies every Armenian knows, such as Noubar - Noubar, Garun e Galis, Dle Yaman, Tsaghkats Baleni, Karine, Kilikia, Zartir Lao, Yeraz, Erebouni-Yerevan, Im Yerevan, Gyumri-Leninakan, Ari Im Sokhak, and others. There are more than 350 pages in this volume filled with favorite melodies every Armenian knows, such as Noubar - Noubar, Garun e Galis, Dle Yaman, Tsaghkats Baleni, Karine, Kilikia, Zartir Lao, Yeraz, Erebouni-Yerevan, Im Yerevan, Gyumri-Leninakan, Ari Im Sokhak, and others. In this book, we find a wide range of composers - from Paghtasar Dpir (18th century) to some of the best composers and lyricists of Soviet Armenia (Khachatur Avetisyan, Aleksey Hekimyan, Alexander Dolukhanyan to name a few).

Armenian Vegan: A Pure Vegan Cookbook With 200+ Recipes Using No Animal Products Ready to enter a whole new world of nourishing meals? Need a break from steak? Eager to taste the culinary treasures of Armenian hospitality? Armenian Vegan invites you to do all three, in the comfort of your own kitchen. All the meals (and snacks!) are here: Breakfast, Soups, Salads, delicious Entrees, Breads, Desserts, and more-all carefully chosen and offered from the great tradition of meatless Armenian meals. Included are all your favorites: Stuffed Grape Leaves, Rice and Bulghour Pilaf, Vegetable Medleys, Paklava, Hearty Breads--all given with carefully chosen ingredients and easy-to-follow preparations. In addition to all the Classic Armenian vegan recipes, author Dikranouhi Kirazian adds her own delightful touches to these favorites--and to new recipes she herself has created. The results are meals that are healthful, easy to prepare, and appealing to all Vegans. Armenian Vegan will open up a whole new world of culinary delight -- meals that will satisfy discriminating tastes and motivate you to add your own creative touches.

"There are some fine recipes here that you're not likely to find elsewhere.... If you're looking for a new cuisine to explore, this is very satisfying." --New York Daily News "For cooks, it's Armenian 101 and much more--a great way to learn about the cuisine. Wise has made a concerted effort to make the recipes approachable and easy to execute." --Los Angeles Daily News A veteran cookbook author returns to her delicious culinary heritage in this savory and passionate recipe collection. Victoria Jenanyan Wise grew up with the flavors, scents, and seasonings of Armenian cooking--a cuisine that combines Mediterranean tastes with Persian, Arabic, and Russian accents. In her first Armenian cookbook, Wise presents traditional favorites and inspired contemporary variations. The author takes us on a comprehensive tour of the typical Armenian pantry, with its nuts, seeds, herbs, spices, fragrant extracts, and wealth of fresh ingredients. Each chapter begins with advice and commentary on essentials, such as fresh yogurt, starters (maza), breads, salads, pilafs, meatballs and other meat, fish and vegetable dishes as well as sweets. Also included is a chapter on the Armenian people and its homeland.