CampusGuides: Native American and Indigenous Studies: Databases at GCC Library

Library Databases for Native American Studies

America: History & Life with Full Text

History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)

Articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press. National and regional coverage in both English and Spanish.
.
Films on Demand

Films On Demand is an educational streaming video resource. It provides access to more than 40,000 quality, curriculum-focused programs from more than 1,000 acclaimed producers, including BBC, PBS, NBC News, ABC News, National Geographic, A&E, and Films for the Humanities & Science.
Gale Primary Sources
Search across GCC's Gale Primary Sources databases, including Archives of Sexuality and Gender, Political Extremism and Radicalism, and Women's Studies Archive.
.
JSTOR

Includes full-text articles from academic journals, open research reports, Artstor images, and primary sources, supporting research and teaching across the humanities and social sciences.

Starting Fall 2023: Access has been expanded through the JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection; all Artstor content has been migrated to the JSTOR platform.
See descriptions of all included JSTOR collections here.
See information about the new Artstor experience on JSTOR here.

Topics covered include archaeology, art, architecture, classics, economics, film studies, folklore, history, literary criticism, music and religion.
OneSearch

Locate books, articles and more in the Glendale College Libraries.
How to use OneSearch ↗
ProQuest

Peer-reviewed/academic articles in addition to newspaper, magazine, and trade journals from all subject areas.
.
Social Explorer
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports, and downloads. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.
How to use this database ↗

How to Find Sources in Library Databases

If you want to find articles and other sources in library databases, you need to search the databases using keywords or search terms. Keywords are the main ideas or concepts of your research topic.

Research Topic Example:

I want to find resources on the history of Native Americans in California.

From my topic, I need to look at WHAT is important, WHO I'm talking about, and WHERE it is happening.

My keywords are: WHO: "Native Americans"; WHAT: history; and WHERE: California.

Note: We put "Native Americans" in quotation marks to search for it as a phrase.

Example Search in the ProQuest Database:

On the library homepage, click on A-Z databases.
Find the ProQuest database on the left side of the page under "Recommended Databases", or by clicking on the "P" letter.
In the advanced search page of ProQuest, enter your keywords in the search box, in my example Native Americans, history, and California. Use AND to connect these concepts together. You can check the full-text option and modify the date option to get the full-text articles from a specific date range. Note: You can also select a specific source or document type from the "Source type" and "Document type" menus on the bottom of the page.
Below are your search results. You can further limit the results by other available options.
Click on any of the titles to access the full text. Remember you can use the cite, email, print, and save options for easier access at a later time.