News is information and commentary on contemporary affairs taken to be publicly important (Schudson 2012).
News is a popular source. Popular sources are typically written by journalists to inform or entertain a general audience, whereas academic sources, also called scholarly sources, are written by experts in a field, people who have advanced degrees in a given discipline.
This chart compares popular sources and academic sources and their features:
|Popular Sources||Academic/Scholarly (including peer-reviewed)|
Current events; general interest articles
Research results/reports; reviews of research (review articles); book reviews
|Purpose||To inform, entertain, or elicit an emotional response||To share research or scholarship with the academic community|
|Author||Staff writers, journalists, freelancers||Scholars/researchers|
|Audience||General public||Scholars, researchers, students|
|Review||Staff editor||Editorial board made up of other scholars and researchers. Some articles are peer-reviewed|
|Citations||May not have citations, or may be informal (ex. according to... or links)||Bibliographies, references, endnotes, footnotes|
|Frequency||Weekly/monthly||Quarterly or semi-annually|
|Ads*||Numerous ads for a variety of products||Minimal, usually only for scholarly products like books|
|Examples on Publisher Site||Washington Post; Time; New York Times; Aerospace Engineering Blog||The Aeronautical Journal; International Journal of Aerospace Engineering; IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Magazine|
|Examples in Library Databases (Requires GCC Login)||Washington Post; Time; New York Times||The Aeronautical Journal; International Journal of Aerospace Engineering; Nature|
News: What happened.
Analysis: What happened and why — writer considers facts and draws conclusions.
Opinion: What I think about what happened.
"Newspapers of record" are national newspapers that have a longstanding reputation for accurate reporting and a commitment to presenting a wide range of perspectives on important issues. They are called "newspapers of record" because they aim to be the best possible record for what happened in the nation on a given day (Caulfield 2021).
The library provides online access to the most recent issues of three national newspapers of record:
As well as online access to other major US newspapers:
Some of these publications are available online and/or in print (paper copies). Print newspapers are accessible on the main floor of the Verdugo Library and are for in-library use only.
African-American newspapers (also known as the Black press or Black newspapers) are news publications in the US that serve African-American communities. Here are direct links to online access to the most recent issues of some of the major publications:
All print newspapers are available from the newspaper rack on the main floor of the Verdugo Library (attached to the column opposite the Research Help Desk). They are for in-library use only.
Title and summary holdings:
|Title||Print Holdings||Online Access|
|The Armenian observer||Current issue only|
|Asbarez||Current issue only|
|Chronicle of Higher Education||One month only||Online access via databases from 1988+ (most recent 1 month not available).|
|Daily News||One month only|
|Glendale News-Press||One month only||Online access via databases for select years; coverage varies.|
|Los Angeles Times||One month only||Online access via databases 1886+ (with some exceptions).|
|Massis Weekly||Current issue only|
|Wall Street Journal||One month only||Online access via databases 1984+.|
Glendale Community College | 1500 North Verdugo Road, Glendale, California 91208 | Tel: 818.240.1000
GCC Home © 2023 - Glendale Community College. All Rights Reserved.