Ethnic Studies 111 - EUROPEAN IMMIGRANTS IN AMERICA, 1776 TO PRESENT - Kronbeck

These two-volumes are the key to opening the door to the immigrant experience in the United States. This set covers 161 nonindigenous cultural groups currently living in the United States. It discusses both European groups that have been components of American culture for centuries and those groups who arrived in the twentieth century and are therefore less assimilated and more culturally distinct. From the Acadians to the Zoroastrians, it discusses the unique cultural characteristics of each group including detailed immigration and settlement histories, language, economic patterns, housing, religion, marriage, family and kinship, relations with other ethnic groups, as well as discrimination experienced by the group.

This richly illustrated set is the definitive reference on American immigration from both historic and contemporary perspectives. It traces the scope and sweep of U.S. immigration from the earliest colonial settlements to the present, focusing on critical issues as well as the groups of people involved. Every major immigrant group and every era are fully documented and examined through detailed analysis os social, legal, political, economic, and demographic factors. Archival and contemporary photographs, along with hundreds of pages of documents and illustrations, further illuminate the information provided. Featuring a wealth of data derived from INS records. Part I: History of U.S. Immigration From colonial times to the present. Part II: Immigration Issues Includes laws and policy, politics, economics, labor, demographics, legal vs. illegal, the INS, culture, language, and more. Part III: The Immigrant Groups by Region of the World. Part IV: Documents in American ImmigrationIncludes laws, historical census data, and other pertinent documents. -- from Books in Print

Ellis Island, at the southern tip of Manhattan, was the major portal for European immigrants to the United States and looms large in 19th century and early 20th century history. After extensive restoration, today it is a national symbol and important museum. Authored by a noted historian and librarian at the Ellis Island Immigration Museum, this is the first encyclopedia devoted to the Island, documenting its various incarnations. It contains more than 430 essay entries on the crucial people, operations, rooms and buildings, events, immigration laws and acts, organizations, and other terms associated with the island's history.

Beginning with ancestors of Native Americans, this book sets forth the history of immigration to the United States. The authors provide exhaustive coverage in three parts: a historical overview, a chronology & an A to Z section of immigrant groups by nationality.

This two-volume reference work examines 101 different ethnic groups in the United States, ranging from migrant groups to certain distinct religions. Selection was based on population size or the unique importance of the group. Generally ten to 20 pages long, the signed original articles by recognized scholars contain a general history of the group, a description of the area or country of origin, and an examination of a variety of different aspects of the group's experience in the United States. The entries are excellent summary articles that also include handbook-type information such as addresses of organizations and a few additional sources for consultation. This set is similar in scope and quality to the Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups (1980), though it is more up-to-date. Of value to public, some larger school, and academic libraries. -- from Library Journal

The topic of immigration has been in the forefront of the news, which makes this an opportune time for Salem Press to provide this entry in the Magill's Choice series. The 193 entries cover issues related to U.S. immigration and are drawn from 13 different Salem publications, including Great Events from History: North American Series (1997), Encyclopedia of Family Life (1999), and Racial and Ethnic Relations in America (1999). Entries have been revised as needed, and two, African immigrants and September 11 terrorist attacks, are new. Each of the alphabetically arranged articles begins with a brief definition of the article's topic. This is followed by a list of categories under which the topic falls (for example, "Asian Immigrants," "Border Control," "Refugees") and a sentence on the significance of the topic as it relates to immigration. Boldface subheadings make the entry text easy to read, and each entry concludes with an updated further-reading list and cross-references to other articles on related subjects. -- from Booklist

Interest in ethnic studies and multiculturalism has grown considerably in the 12 years since the publication of the first edition of this work. Co-editors Ratner and Buenker have revised and updated the first edition of Multiculturalism in the United States to reflect the changes, patterns, and shifts in immigration showing how American culture affects immigrants and is affected by them. Common topics that helped determine the degree and pace of acculturation for each ethnic group are addressed in each of the 17 essays providing the reader with a comparative reference tool. Seven new ethnic groups are included: Arabs, Haitians, Vietnamese, Koreans, Filipinos, Asian Indians, and Dominicans. New essays on the Irish, Chinese, and Mexicans are provided as are revised and updated essays on the remaining groups from the first edition. The contribution to American culture by people of these diverse origins reflects differences in class, occupation, and religion. The authors explain the tensions and conflicts between American culture and the traditions of newly arrived immigrants. Changes over time that both of the cultures brought to America and of the culture that received them is also discussed. Essays on representative ethnic groups include African-Americans, American Indians, Arabs, Asian Indians, Chinese, Dominicans, Filipinos, Germans, Haitians, Irish, Italians, Jews, Koreans, Mexicans, Poles, Scandinavians, and the Vietnamese.

Based upon a need for comprehensive information in the area of multiculturalism, THE REFERENCE LIBRARY OF EUROPEAN AMERICA is a four-volume reference that provides detailed coverage of 46 countries & 43 distinct ethnic or ethnoreligous groups of European origin. Students & researchers will quickly & easily find a wide range of information from religion, language, culture & geography to government, industry, history, recreation & much, much more. Each volume features a volume-specific index to terms, people, places, movements, events & organizations as well as a general, cumulative index. -- from Books in Print

Behold the beauty, majesty, and accuracy of revolutionary new world atlases published by Macmillan and produced from the $20 million Bertelsmann/RV Verlag world digital cartographic database. Peerless in design, quality, and practicality, these new atlases are published in print and CD-ROM formats and feature unique, distinctive benefits:
-- Special coloration shows what the Earth really looks like from space
-- Uniform scale across all continents provides true one-to-one comparisons
-- Transportation routes and POIs are highlighted so map can be used for travel as well as home and office reference
-- Up-to-date research and clean, modern type ensure readers are getting the most current and clear information
And these are just the opening titles in the Macmillan Atlas Geographic Reference category. Look for innovative new titles in Historic Reference such as The Atlas of the Civil War and Popular Reference such as The Atlas of War & Peace: Bosnia Herzegovina.