Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Garfield Campus | Student Success Center (ABSE)

Welcome to the 11B Research Project Page

Literature for 11B

Library Resources for Your 11B Research Project

The databases featured on this page will help you find credible, authoritative information about a topic related to the 1920s. All of these sources are FREE to registered GCC students in the high school programs!

Select from the menu on the left to find out more about how to use academic sources responsibly and how to cite your sources using MLA format.

Choose Your Topic

One of the most difficult things when getting started on a research paper can be coming up with a strategy to begin exploring a topic. Some topics are too broad, and need to be broken down into smaller parts, which can help a lot. Some topics are too narrow, and need to be expanded.

just-right topic will reflect the length of a research paper (how many pages are you required to write?), the amount of time you have to complete the paper, and the number of sources you're being asked to incorporate into your paper.


Background Research

One way to come up with a topic is to do background research. This includes reading encyclopedia articles to learn more about a broad subject. Once you know more about the subject, you can make connections between topics and sub-topics. Then write a short summary of what you have learned from your background research.

It helps to think of your main topic as a starting point for your research, not a destination. 


Research Ideas

Here are some ideas for topics for the 1920s. Feel free to ask your instructor about choosing a slightly different topic.

  • Harlem Renaissance
  • Fashion of the 20’s- Flappers
  • Jazz Age
  • Prohibition
  • Social Impact of the 1920’s
  • Women’s Rights/ Women’s Suffrage
  • New Technology of the 1920’s
  • Automobiles of the 1920’s
  • Economics Impact of the 1920’s

Essential Questions

Use an essential question to narrow your topic and develop your paper's thesis. Here are some examples of essential questions. For more, refer to your class Research Guide or speak with your instructor.

  • How does the women's suffrage movement illustrate the the cultural and economic changes in the 1920s America? 
  • How did the Harlem Renaissance affect literature (or culture) in 1920s America?

Citing Sources Using MLA

MLA Handbook Book Jacket

Your Works Cited Page

You'll be using MLA format to cite each of the sources used in your paper. MLA format has two primary functions:

  • In-text Citations: In-text citations are presented in the text of your paper when you directly cite or paraphrase from a source. 
  • Works Cited List: The Works Cited list includes all of the sources you use in your paper, arranged in alphabetical order by the author's last name. 

MLA also provides guidelines on formatting your paper, from what to include on your cover page, where to place your page numbers, what size font you should use, and more! 

The websites below offer detailed information on how to use MLA. And you're always welcome to ask a GCC librarian for help with MLA - or anything else!

Chat with a GCC librarian

 

Databases

Recommended Databases

The databases listed below are FREE to students enrolled in classes at Garfield Campus!

Databases are frequently the best place to begin your research and often have more reliable and authoritative information than what you'll find in Google. 

When searching in databases, it's important to use the right keywords or phrases to describe your topic. A keyword is a single word that defines what you are seeking. A phrase is two or more words that define what you are seeking.

Depending on your topic, you can combine keywords and/or phrases to narrow or broaden your search. Here are a few examples related to your assignment using the Harlem Renaissance as a main topic.

Harlem Renaissance AND Apollo Theater

Harlem Renaissance AND Langston Hughes

Harlem Renaissance AND African American Culture

Begin your research by exploring the databases below and see where they lead you!

Reference Sources

The library provides access to several reference databases to help you find general information about a topic. Britannica Academic, Credo Reference, and Gale EBOOKS are three databases that can help you start searching for an overview about your topic and other related information.

Britannica Academic


Credo Reference


Gale Ebooks

Article and Subject Databases

Article databases focus on a specific subject and provide sources such as newspaper, magazine, and journal articles. Subject databases may also include sources from reference sources such as encyclopedias and bibliographies plus topic overviews, literary criticisms, and images, and even primary sources. The following databases emphasize literary works and historical events in the United States.

Gale Literature

Gale Literature

Gale Literary Sources is combined search engine that also includes our content from Literature Resource Center and Literature Criticism Online.


Daily Life Through History

Daily Life Through History

To find general information on 1920s America, click on "The World at War, 1914 - 1945," under the Browse Topics menu on the left-hand side of the page, and then click on "1920s America." Once on the page, you can select specific sources from the menu on the left. You can also search for sources, such as primary sources and reference articles, by entering keywords related to your topic using the Advance Search page.


Los Angeles Times Historical Newspapers (1881-1987)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times

This database gives you access to the Los Angeles Times' newspaper articles published between 1881 and 1987.  

Kanopy - "The Harlem Renaissance & Beyond" (37:00)

Video of "The Harlem Renaissance & Beyond" (37:00)

To view Kanopy videos, first click on the video above to open the GCC Sign-In portal. Once you have signed in using your Canvas username and password, Kanopy will open. To view videos, you can create a Kanopy account using your GCC student email address. Click on the red "Log In To Glendale" button. Clicking on the video image above will open the database log in page. After logging in, Kanopy will open. Once you have created your account, you can search for the video by title and view it or save it to watch later.

Glendale Community College | 1500 North Verdugo Road, Glendale, California 91208 | Tel: 818.240.1000 | 
GCC Home  © 2021 - Glendale Community College. All Rights Reserved. | POLICE 

chat loading...
chat loading...