Skip to Main Content

Learning Outcomes Committee - Working Bibliography

Suggested reading - Student Learning Outcomes

Academic Senate for California Community Colleges. (2010). Guiding principles for SLO assessment. Available at http://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED521068 .

Academic Senate for California Community Colleges. (2010). SLO terminology glossary: A resource for local senates. Available at http://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED511371 .  

Ariovich, L., & Walker, S. A. (2014). Assessing course redesign: The case of developmental math. Research & Practice in Assessment, 945-57. Available at http://eric.ed.gov/?id=EJ1062722 .

Bers, T. H. (2008). The role of institutional assessment in assessing student learning outcomes. New Directions for Higher Education, (141), 31-39. doi:10.1002/he.291. Available through Academic Search Premier.

Catanzaro, J. L. (2012). Optimizing efficiency, completion and achievement all at once. Community College Week, 25(8), 4. Available through Academic Search Premier.

Chaplot, P. (2010). Implementation and sustainability of learning assessment efforts: Facilitators and inhibitors. Journal of Applied Research in the Community College, 17(2), 35-43. Available through ProQuest Education Journals database.

Cosgrove, J. J., & McDoniel, L. J. (2009). Community college strategies: Creating a culture of action using mission-based assessment. Assessment Update, 21(4), 11-14. Available through ERIC database (EBSCOhost).

Garfolo, B. T., & L'Huillier, B. (2015). Demystifying assessment: The road to accreditation. Journal of College Teaching & Learning (Online), 12(3), 151.  Available through ProQuest Education Journals database.

Gilbert, G., & Buechner, M. (2007). Agents of change: Examining the role of student learning outcomes and assessment coordinators in California community colleges. Academic Senate for California Community Colleges. Available at http://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED510562 .

Hoops, L. D., Yu, S. L., Burridge, A. B., & Wolters, C. A. (2015). Impact of a student success course on undergraduate academic outcomes. Journal of College Reading and Learning, 45(2), 123-146. Available through ProQuest Education Journals database.

Internet Resources for Higher Education Outcomes Assessment. http://www.assessmentcommons.org .

Jaggars, S. S., & Bailey, T. (2010). Effectiveness of fully online courses for college students: Response to a Department of Education meta-analysis. Community College Research Center, Columbia University. Available at http://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED512274 .

Martin, E. (2013). Helping community college students "connect the dots" of their college experience with e-portfolios. Peer Review, 15(2), 14-15. Available through Academic Search Premier.

Newhart, D. W. (2015). To learn more about learning: The value-added role of qualitative approaches to assessment. Research & Practice in Assessment, 10, 5-10. Available through ProQuest Education Journals database.

Nunley, C., Bers, T., & Manning, T. (2011). Learning outcomes assessment in community college. National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champagne. Available at http://www.learningoutcomeassessment.org/documents/CommunityCollege1.pdf .

Petrides, L., Middleton-Detzner, C., Jimes, C., Hedgspeth, C., & Rubio, R. (2011). The faculty inquiry network: Inquiry-based professional development as a catalyst for innovative teaching, enhanced student performance, and institutional reform. Paper presented at the Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE) Annual Conference. Available at http://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED533015 .

Popovich, P. M., & Vierheller, T. R. (2005). Community college strategies: Linking course, program, and institutional learning outcomes--an embedded assessment model. Assessment Update, 17(3), 9-11. Available through ERIC database (EBSCOhost).

Prentice, M., & Robinson, G. (2010). Improving student learning outcomes with service learning. American Association of Community Colleges. Available at http://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED535904 .

Rossol-Allison, P. M., Alleman Beyers, N. J. (2011).  The role of full-time and part-time faculty in student learning outcomes. Paper presented at the Annual Forum of the Association for Institutional Research. Available at http://eric.ed.gov/?id=ED531726 .

Seifert, T. A., Gillig, B., Hanson, J. M., Pascarella, E. T., & Blaich, C. F. (2014). The conditional nature of high impact/good practices on student learning outcomes. Journal of Higher Education, 85(4), 531-564. Available through Academic Search Premier.

Simpson, K. P. (2009). Empowering faculty through assessment. Inquiry, 14(1), 41-53. Available at http://eric.ed.gov/?id=EJ833918 .

Thonney, T., & Montgomery, J. C. (2015). The relationship between cumulative credits and student learning outcomes: a cross-sectional assessment of information literacy and communication skills. Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, 15(1), 70-87. Available at http://eric.ed.gov/?id=EJ1052564.

Library Database Quicklinks

Glendale Community College | 1500 North Verdugo Road, Glendale, California 91208 | Tel: 818.240.1000 | 
GCC Home  © 2021 - Glendale Community College. All Rights Reserved. | POLICE 

chat loading...
chat loading...