Library Catalog
Debt by Call Number: 332.02402 D288ISBN: 0737742038Publication Date: 2010Examines both sides of the issues surrounding consumer debt, from attitudes towards debt and responsible debt management to national debt and resolving debt problems.
Food by Call Number: 363.862 F686ISBN: 073773793XPublication Date: 2008Chapter 1: What controversies surround nutrition? : The politics of food / Marian Burros ; Government dietary guidelines are political, not scientific / Walter C. Willett ; Health studies overemphasize the impact of diet / Barry Glassner ; Obesity is not a public health issue / Radley Balko ; Bans of certain foods are absurd / The Center for Consumer Freedom ; The best diet is the product of common sense / Jacob Sullum ; Misleading nutritional advice has led to an unsustainable diet / Michael Pollan ; The government's food stamp program encourages poor eating / Patt Morrison
Chapter 2: Is the U.S. food supply safe? [...]Chapter 3: Are fast and snack foods responsible for obesity among youth?[...] Chapter 4: Are organic foods a positive trend? ...
QUICK TIPS.
1. Start with a Keyword Anywhere Search
2. Look for Subjects in the catalog record.
3. Redo your search using Subject Keywords
LOOK FOR:
1. Location
2. Availability
3. Call Number (or link to electronic resources)
Recommended Databases
- CQ ResearcherIn-depth, balanced reports on controversial issues and current events. New reports are published weekly. Full text.
- Credo ReferenceThis database includes reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical information and more.
- ProQuest Ebook CentralAlmost 30,000 electronic books on a wide variety of topics ebrary ebooks are downloadable, compatible on mobile devices. Highlight or make notes in the text, plus there's a built-in dictionary and additional InfoTools
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints In ContextThis database includes reference and viewpoint articles about controversial issues, as well as scholarly journal, magazine and newspaper articles, web links, and more
- Issues & Controversies (Facts on File)Explores hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Includes an encyclopedia and almanac.
- OneSearchSearchable database of print and non-print materials in the Glendale College Library. The online catalog is the database you use to locate books in the library.
- Searchasaurus -Intermediate (EBSCOhost)Full-text articles from magazines, newspapers and reference sources.
- EBSCOhostMain link to EBSCOhost databases by group. Select the first link "EBSCOhost Web" to search in all EBSCO databases, or select a group of databases by subject.