Early American Writings brings together a wide range of writings from the era of colonization of the Americas through the period of confederation in North America and the formation of the new United States of America. The anthology includes materials representing cultures indigenous to the Americas as well as writings by British, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, French, Swedish, German, African, and African American peoples in America during the fifteenth through the eighteenth centuries. With more than 170 writers included, the collection represents the works known and admired in the writers' own day, illustrates the diversity of interests and peoples depicted in those writings, and demonstrates the range of cross-cultural references early American readers experienced. The breadth of the collection provides readers with a fuller understanding of the backdrop for what is known as "American" culture today, in all its diversity.
Early American Writings includes several original translations and features more poetry than any other anthology in the field. Each section covers a different period of colonization and is introduced by extensive commentary. All selections have been carefully annotated to help students place the writings in their cultural and regional contexts. Ideal for courses in early/colonial American literature and culture, colonial American studies, American studies, and American history, Early American Writings gives students an unprecedented look into the diverse and fascinating culture of early America.
With this unique collection of primary source documents from colonial newspapers, students will be able to debate the issues of colonial America. Pro and con opinion pieces, letters, essays and news reports that were printed in colonial newspapers will help the reader to understand the differing viewpoints of colonial Americans on the key issues from 1690 to the signing of the Declaration of Independence in 1776. Nearly 300 documents, organized chronologically by event, will help readers step back in time to debate the issues faced by 18th-century Americans. The work covers 31 events from abolition, religion, and women's rights to the Stamp Act crisis and the Boston Tea Party. For every major event or issue of the colonial period, newspapers printed the opinions of the day, in many cases attempting to influence public opinion. Issues such as medical discoveries, education, and censorship are covered in this collection along with important events such as the French and Indian War, the trial of John Peter Zenger, and the Boston Massacre. Each chapter introduces the event or issue and includes news articles, letters, essays, even poetry representing both sides of the argument as they affected Americans. Each document is preceded by an explanatory introduction. This is the only collection of primary source documents from colonial newspapers on the events of the era and will be a valuable tool for research and classroom discussion.
Drawing on a gold mine of primary documents--including letters, diary entries, personal narratives, political speeches, broadsides, trial transcripts, and contemporary newspaper articles--The Boisterous Sea of Liberty brings the past to life in a way few histories ever do. Here is a panoramic look at American history from the voyages of Columbus through the bloody Civil War, as captured in the words of Ben Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, George Washington, Andrew Jackson, Abraham Lincoln, Frederick Douglass, Harriet Beecher Stowe and many other historical figures, both famous and obscure. In these pieces, the living voices of the past speak to us from opposing viewpoints--from the vantage point of loyalists as well as patriots, slaves as well as masters--providing a more sophisticated understanding of the forces that have shaped our society, from the power of public opinion to the nearly absolute power of the slaveholder. For instance, on the issue of race, we find first-hand accounts of oppression suffered by Indians and slaves; the antislavery argument made before the Supreme Court by John Quincy Adams; the writings of Frederick Douglass and other abolitionists; and the bitter response of Southern politicians--all to give a richer portrait of this complex issue. Likewise, documents collected here provide a fuller understanding of such historical issues as Columbus's dealings with Native Americans, the Stamp Act Crisis, the Declaration of Independence, the Whiskey Rebellion, the Missouri Crisis, the Mexican War, and Harpers Ferry, to name but a few. Compiled by Pulitzer Prize winning historian David Brion Davis and Steven Mintz, and accompanied by extensive illustrations of original documents, The Boisterous Sea of Liberty brings the reader back in time, to meet the men and women who lived through the momentous events that shaped our nation.
American literature was born when Englishmen began to write about their experiences in the trans-Atlantic colonies. It was the offspring of the marriage between the English language and the American ...
The most important personal accounts of the Plymouth Colony-the key sources of Nathaniel Philbrick's New York Timesbestseller Mayflower National Book Award winner Nathaniel Philbrick and his father, Thomas Philbrick, present the most significant and readable original works that were used in the writing of Mayflower, offering a definitive look at a crucial era of America's history. The selections include William Bradford's "Of Plymouth Plantation" (1651), the most comprehensive of all contemporary accounts of settlement in seventeenth-century America; Benjamin Church's "Entertaining Passages Relating to Philip's War 1716," an eye-opening account from Church's field notes from battle; and much more. Providing explanatory notes for every piece, the editors have vividly re- created the world of seventeenth-century New England for anyone interested in the early history of our nation.
Historians have commonly characterized Puritan family life as joyless, repressive, even brutal. By such accounts, Puritan parents disciplined their children mercilessly, crushed their wills, responded callously to their deaths, and routinely sent them out of the home to be raised by cold-hearted surrogates. The diary of Samuel Sewall (1652-1730) contradicts this grim portrait of the Puritan household. Although Sewall was an exceptional Puritan father and not a representative one, his judicial, civic, religious, and business activities projected him far beyond his own privileged and respectable circumstances. As a record of the family and social life of New England's third generation, his remarkable journal, which spans fifty-five years, is rivaled only by that of his friend Cotton Mather. Sewall provides rich details about the home where his and Hannah Sewall's fourteen children were born, and the six who survived infancy were raised. He takes the reader through the streets and byways of Boston, to the meetinghouse, to the places where his children were educated and apprenticed, and to the homes of friends, neighbors, and kin. Judith S. Graham's close reading of Sewall's diary and family papers reveals that warmth, sympathy, and love often marked the Puritan parent-child relationship. She suggests that the special nature of childhood was a concept that parents understood well, and that there was a practical and clear purpose for the "putting out" of children. Graham provides a much-needed balance to accepted scholarship on Puritan life and offers new insights into the history of both early New England and the family.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
To find additional primary sources in the GCC Library Catalog enter the following Library of Congress (LC) subject headings to locate books containing primary sources. You may also use these same LC subject headings to search online in other library catalogs such as Los Angeles Public Library or Glendale Public. Some examples of Library of Congress subject headings related to the topic of the United States during Colonial Times up to the Reconstruction include (click on links below):
The 125 historical documents in this unique volume bring to life the triumphs, disappointments, and enduring contributions of women's struggle for equal rights in America. This work also reveals often-surprising sources of opposition, such as Abraham Lincoln and the U.S. Supreme Court. Organized into five chronological periods, the documents provide a flavor for the time period in which they were written. Each period and each document is preceded by an explanatory introduction that puts it in historical context. A chronology of significant dates in the history of American women's rights, a topically organized bibliography, and a list of women's organizations for further information completes the work.
Public Women, Public Words draws material from an eclectic blend of public texts, including speeches and broadsides; testimonies and transcripts from trials and other legal proceedings; fiction and poetry; articles from popular, middle-brow, radical and academic journals, newspapers, and magazines--all in an effort to present the many strands of feminist thought over three centuries. From the earliest testimonies at Salem to the pleas for fair wages at the end of the nineteenth century, these documents trace the development of feminist thought and action in its many forms. This source consists of three volumes
“Frey and Morton use cogent, lucid introductions and annotations as a setting for a collection of documents that speak with insistent voices about women's activities and social positions in America from the Colonial period to 1815. Pointing out that `nobody came to the New World to get poor' or to become unhappy, the authors discuss women's roles in the relationships circumscribed by family, work, religion, and law. The introductions to the documents are excellent; the documents themselves are in turn poignant, witty, revealing, and subtle, but always compelling. The text preceding each document provides a setting, raises a question, or introduces an issue.... The tone is reasoned and objective. A great deal of valuable bibliographic information is interspersed throughout the text....”–Choice
The exceptional biography--from letters, a diary, and reminiscences--of an unknown woman (1736-1818) whose life spanned the Great Awakening, the Revolution, and the first-score years of the 19th century. Father was a Stonington, Conn. minister whose authority, but not faith, was undermined by the dissension arising from the first Great Awakening. Mary, his beloved daughter, was sent at 15 to Sarah Osborn's school for young women st Newport, where ""the lessons of character"" instilled by her father were reinforced. In 1756, during a round of visits, she was introduced to unassuming young Joseph Fish of New Haven, whose proposal Mary accepted because ""he grew more and more amiable and agreeable to me and my friends."" Their first child, a girl, died in infancy: only the beginning of Mary's trials, Joseph himself, an epileptic, died in 1767, leaving her with three sons. These were difficult years in which Mary, by her own words, found herself ""in the valley, a valley dark and dismal, I could not see light in either world."" Despite several suitors, she did not rush back into marriage, and only st age 38 accepted Gold Select Silliman, of one of Fairfield's leading families. ""While Silliman and Mary wrote love letters, others had been more grimly engaged at Lexington and Concord."" Silliman received his marching orders; fought in several battles; then returned to secure the locality. But on May 2, 1779, he was forcibly abducted and held for almost a year in an enemy stronghold. All the while, Mary maintained a household that now comprised her first three sons, two sons by Silliman, and assorted hangers-on, On his eventual return, financial problems festered. Though (to Mary) mere ""trifles when set against the blessings of family,"" they may nonetheless have hastened his death, in 1789. Only slowly did Mary manage to extricate herself from her precarious financial position. In her later years, by contrast, she seemed (according to one son) ""to be travailing up instead of down the hill of life."" She even married again, a doctor acquaintance in Middletown; but she spent much of ben time staying with family members who needed her care. The suicide of a grandson tested her faith as had no other death. But she could be proud of her extended family, all of whom attested to her authority as matriarch. ""In Mary's hands,"" write the Buels, ""the family became as vigorous an instrument as institutions] religion for the maintenance of the faith which. . . provided a revolutionary generation with a link to their origins."" Engrossing family history, very well told.--Kirkus Reviews
Every anthology constructs a tradition. Sitting directly in dialogue with the feminist literary recovery project of the past 30 years, this anthology constructs a tradition of American women's writing that is truly multiple and inclusive, bringing together women's voices from across a broad spectrum of U.S. social life. Anyone who cares about women's literature is sure to be intrigued by this anthology's radical vision of what the history of women's writing truly has been. Neither narrowly canonical nor exclusively literary, this 1200-page anthology features women's voices as they appear in nontraditional public formats, such as trial transcripts, petitions and criminal confessions. It includes women's writing in public formats other than just print, including speeches and song lyrics. It also features expanded selections from Chicanas, working class women and antebellum Native American women, as well as thematic concerns with disability, women's sexuality, immigration and diaspora, women's suffrage, and lynching. And it offers expanded selections of plays, including temperance and "minstrel" plays; travel narratives; as well as a broader range of fiction from both women's magazines and "literary" magazines. The aim of Volume One (17th through 19th centuries) is to show when and where and how women entered into public discourse pre-20th century, and how that access varied according to race, national origin, class, education, geographical location, physical ability, etc. as well as how it varied over the two centuries. Some of these materials have not been reprinted since their original publication; many have never been available in "literature" or "women writers" anthologies.