Databases with Peer-Reviewed Articles about Sociology
The following databases have peer-reviewed (aka "refereed") articles about sociology and other related topics. These article databases are not freely available via the Web.
To access the database, click on the title. For off campus access, use your Canvas login.
- Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary resource. Includes peer-reviewed (refereed) journals, magazines and newspapers.
- APA PsycArticles
Scholarly articles from the American Psychological Society’s peer-reviewed journals.
- ProQuestTo limit to empirical articles only, go to Results list, under "Document type", select "More" then in the "Include" column, select "Article", "Case study", "Evidence based healthcare", "Report", and "Statistics/Data Report". Then select "Apply"
Limiting Results to Peer-Reviewed Articles
Most databases have an option to limit search results to peer-reviewed articles only.
In the ProQuest database, that limiters is on the left-hand side:
In OneSearch, the limiters is also on the left-hand side:
Not Sure if it's Peer-Reviewed?
If you're still not sure if an article is peer-reviewed, do a search for the title of the journal. The journal will usually have an "About" page that will indicate if it's peer-reviewed.
Example: Search the title in Google
To find the About page:
Still Not Sure?
Librarians can help you determine if an article is from a peer-reviewed journal. Visit the library in person or contact us online for assistance.
-
In Library - Come to the Library during hours of operation to get help at the Research Help Desk or Circulation Desk.
-
Chat - Have a question or need help? Chat with a librarian.
-
Email- Send us an email at library@glendale.edu.
-
Phone: (818) 240-1000- Circulation - Ext. 5586 or 5581
- Research Help - Ext. 5577
-
Make an Appointment with a Librarian - Schedule an appointment to get in-depth research help via Zoom.
-
Library Staff Directory - See our Library Staff Directory for individual contact information.
Email
Phone: (818) 240-1000