Where Do I Start? To Browse Or To Search?
A great way to start your research is to explore select databases to browse for topics of interest. Listed on this guide are databases that you can both browse for topics of interest as well as search for sources on your topic.
From our home page, click on the Databases A - Z
Library Databases
Proquest contains peer-reviewed/academic articles in addition to newspaper, magazine, and trade journals from all subject areas.
Opposing Viewpoints contains pro and con articles about controversial issues and societal challenges. Includes topic overview, primary source documents and statistics.
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Credo offers articles from reference books including dictionaries, encyclopedias, quotations, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific reference titles.
Search tips
Keyword search
When you put a word into a general search box, you are asking the system to retrieve any items that mention that word
Subject search
If you identify a word as a subject, the system will return items that are devoted to that topic. Items returned don't just mention the topic, they are primarily focused on that topic.
What's the difference?
For example, if you put keywords voting rights Georgia, you will get articles that mention voting rights and Georgia. You may be pleased to find an article about voting rights in the United States that may mention the word Georgia, but it won't be specifically about that state. If you put "voting rights" as a subject (use the quotes and the words will be searched as a phrase) and Georgia as a subject, you will get articles that are devoted only to the subject of voting rights in that state. Your searches will be more efficient as you learn how to combine keywords and subjects.
What if I don't get this?
Ask a librarian. We love helping students hone their searching skills.
Is it OK to use just one search term?
Usually not. Remember that people sometimes come up with different terms for the same topic. People who advocate unrestricted gun ownership may call their topic "gun rights" or "second amendment rights". People who advocate restricting or licensing gun ownership may use "gun control" or "firearm restrictions" or "gun safety", or even "gun violence".
Other examples of vocabulary differences. People will sue different terms depending upon where they stand on the issue:
pro-choice / pro-life
illegal aliens / undocumented persons
sanctity of marriage / marriage equality
If you don't know the different terms, go to Opposing Viewpoints or CQ Researcher and make sure to read articles on both sides of the issue. Pay attention to the language used by the author, and then use those words for your searches.
What if I need help finding the right words?
Ask a librarian. We love helping students hone their searching skills.