Citation Generators!
Many subscription databases provide helpful citation generators to get you started on your citation.
Many of them are pretty good, but you must proofread them for accuracy and formatting. In most cases, there is at least one thing wrong with them.
For example, the title might be in ALL CAPS, the citation is not indented or double-spaced, or the date might be in the wrong format.
In most cases, you will see an icon that looks like one of these:
You will be asked to select a citation style, MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.
After you make a selection, you may copy and paste the generated citation, and add it to your Works Cited, References, Bibliography, etc.
Remember to always proofread and edit these citations to ensure they are accurate and in the proper format.
Use the citation brief guides, online citation websites such as Purdue Owl, or the APA Guide, etc. to check for accuracy.
Good luck, and work with a librarian if you need help!
Schedule an Appointment with a Librarian
Chicago Style Notes-Bibliography Tutorial
Notes and Bibliography Chicago Style Tutorial via Niche Academy
Author-Date Chicago Style Tutorial via Niche Academy
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Chicago Style Citation for AI
According to Chicago Style, you must credit ChatGPT when you reproduce its words within your own work, but unless you include a publicly available URL, that information should be put in the text or in a note. DO NOT CITE AI TOOLS IN YOUR BIBLIOGRAPHY OR REFERENCE LIST. Other AI-generated text can be cited similarly.
Author-Date Format for In-text Chicago Style Citation:
“(ChatGPT, March 7, 2023).”
If the prompt hasn’t been included in the text, it can be included in the note:
1. ChatGPT, response to “Explain how to make pizza dough from common household ingredients,” OpenAI, March 7, 2023.
Endnote or Footnote on AI tool:
1. Text generated by ChatGPT, OpenAI, March 7, 2023, https://chat.openai.com/chat.
-
Citing AI/ChatGPT in Chicago StyleNote: Chicago Style reccommends crediting ChatGPT and similar tools whenever you use the text that they generate in your own work. But for most types of writing, you can simply acknowledge the AI tool in your text.
-
Citing AI-Generated Images/DALLE in Chicago StyleNote: Chicago Style recommends citing the organization in all AI-generated content as with any image that you did not create.
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Chicago Manual of Style
-
The Chicago Manual of Style
by
Call Number: 808.027 C532, 2017ISBN: 9780226817972Publication Date: 2024-09-19The venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar--an indispensable reference informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice. Now in its 18th edition! More than 1.75 million copies sold! Much has happened in the years since the publication of the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. The world has transformed, and the Manual has risen to meet the moment. The eighteenth edition of this classic guide for writers, editors, and publishers is the most extensive revision in two decades. Every chapter has been reexamined with diversity and accessibility in mind, and major changes include updated and expanded coverage of pronoun use and inclusive language, revised guidelines on capitalization, a broader range of examples, new coverage of Indigenous languages, and expanded advice on making publications accessible to people with disabilities. The Manual's traditional focus on nonfiction has been expanded to include fiction and other creative genres in coverage of topics such as punctuation and dialogue, and the needs of self-published authors receive wider attention. The citation chapters have been thoroughly reorganized for the benefit of new and experienced users alike, and the key concepts for editing mathematics have been integrated into the chapters where they will be most useful to generalists. Evolving technologies--from open-access publishing models to AI--are covered throughout. And naturally, there are some well-considered updates to familiar rules, including changes intended to align the Manual's recommendations more closely with real-world usage. As with every new edition, devotees of the Manual will find much to discover and ponder.
