Remember that when you access any of the library's databases off campus, you will be asked to login by using your student ID and password. All library databases are accessed using the same login information as you do for Canvas.
If you get stuck, send the library an email anytime (response time will depend on whether the library is open when the email is received) or chat with a librarian during regular business hours:
The thoroughly expanded and updated New Companion to the Gothic, provides a series of stimulating insights into Gothic writing, its history and genealogy. The addition of 12 new essays and a section on 'Global Gothic' reflects the direction Gothic criticism has taken over the last decade. Many of the original essays have been revised to reflect current debates Offers comprehensive coverage of criticism of the Gothic and of the various theoretical approaches it has inspired and spawned Features important and original essays by leading scholars in the field The editor is widely recognized as the founder of modern criticism of the Gothic
New edition of bestselling introductory text outlining the history and ways of reading Gothic literatureThis revised edition includes: * A new chapter on Contemporary Gothic which explores the Gothic of the early twenty first century and looks at new critical developments* An updated Bibliography of critical sources and a revised Chronology The book opens with a Chronology and an Introduction to the principal texts and key critical terms, followed by five chapters: The Gothic Heyday 1760-1820; Gothic 1820-1865; Gothic Proximities 1865-1900; Twentieth Century; and Contemporary Gothic. The discussion examines how the Gothic has developedin different national contexts and in different forms, including novels, novellas, poems, films, radio and television. Each chapter concludes with a close reading of a specific text - Frankenstein, Jane Eyre, Dracula, The Silence of the Lambs and The Historian - to illustrate ways in whichcontextual discussion informs critical analysis. The book ends with a Conclusion outlining possible future developments within scholarship on the Gothic.
In a wide ranging series of introductory essays written by some of the leading figures in the field, this essential guide explores the world of Gothic in all its myriad forms throughout the mid-eighteenth Century to the internet age. The Routledge Companion to Gothicincludes discussion on: the history of Gothic gothic throughout the English-speaking world i.e. London and USA as well as the postcolonial landscapes of Australia, Canada and the Indian subcontinent key themes and concepts ranging from hauntings and the uncanny; Gothic femininities and queer Gothic gothic in the modern world, from youth to graphic novels and films. With ideas for further reading, this book is one of the most comprehensive and up-to-date guides on the diverse and murky world of the gothic in literature, film and culture.
This groundbreaking study analyzes the development of American gothic literature alongside nineteenth-century discourses of passing and racial ambiguity. By bringing together these areas of analysis, Justin Edwards considers the following questions. How are the categories of OC raceOCO and the rhetoric of racial difference tied to the language of gothicism? What can these discursive ties tell us about a range of social boundariesOCogender, sexuality, class, race, etc.OCoduring the nineteenth century? What can the construction and destabilization of these social boundaries tell us about the development of the U.S. gothic? The sources used to address these questions are diverse, often literary and historical, fluidly moving between OC representationOCO and OC reality.OCO Works of gothic literature by Edgar Allan Poe, Herman Melville, Frances Harper, and Charles Chesnutt, among others, are placed in the contexts of nineteenth-century racial OC scienceOCO and contemporary discourses about the formation of identity. Edwards then examines how nineteenth-century writers gothicized biracial and passing figures in order to frame them within the rubric of a OC demonization of difference.OCO By charting such depictions in literature and popular science, he focuses on an obsession in antebellum and postbellum America over the threat of collapsing racial identitiesOCothreats that resonated strongly with fears of the transgression of the boundaries of sexuality and the social anxiety concerning the instabilities of gender, class, ethnicity, and nationality. "Gothic Passages" not only builds upon the work of Americanists who uncover an underlying racial element in U.S. gothic literature but also sheds new light on the pervasiveness of gothic discourse in nineteenth-century representations of passing from both sides of the color line. This fascinating book will be of interest to scholars of American literature, cultural studies, and African American studies."
ntro -- Shirley Jackson's American Gothic -- Contents -- INTRODUCTION: Shirley Jackson and Proto-Postmodernism -- 1. Some Conditions of Production -- 2. The Lottery or, The Adventures of James Harris -- 3. Come Along with Me: Part of a Novel, Sixteen Stories, and Three Lectures -- 4. Just an Ordinary Day -- 5. The Road Through the Wall -- 6. Hangsaman -- 7. The Bird's Nest -- 8. The Sundial -- 9. The Haunting of Hill House -- 10. We Have Always Lived in the Castle -- Afterword -- Notes -- INTRODUCTION: SHIRLEY JACKSON AND PROTO-POSTMODERNISM -- 1. SOME CONDITIONS OF PRODUCTION -- 2. THE LOTTERY OR, THE ADVENTURES OF JAMES HARRIS -- 3. COME ALONG WITH ME: PART OF A NOVEL, SIXTEEN STORIES, AND THREE LECTURES -- 4. JUST AN ORDINARY DAY -- 5. THE ROAD THROUGH THE WALL -- 6. HANGSAMAN -- 7. THE BIRD'S NEST -- 8. THE SUNDIAL -- 9. THE HAUNTING OF HILL HOUSE -- 10. WE HAVE ALWAYS LIVED IN THE CASTLE
What does it mean to read or write with ghosts, or to suggest that acts of reading or writing are haunted? In what ways can authors in the 19th century be read so as to acknowledge the various phantom effects which return within their texts? In what ways do the traces of such ghost writing surface in the works of Dickens, Tennyson, Eliot and Hardy? Beginning with an exploration of matters of haunting, the uncanny, the gothic and the spectral, Julian Wolfreys traces the ghostly resonances at work in Victorian writing and how such persistence addresses issues of memory and responsibility which haunt the work of reading.
Depictions of the undead in the American South are not limited to our modern versions, such as the vampires in True Blood and the zombies in The Walking Dead. As Undead Souths reveals, physical emanations of southern undeadness are legion, but undeadness also appears in symbolic, psychological, and cultural forms, including the social death endured by enslaved people, the Cult of the Lost Cause that resurrected the fallen heroes of the Confederacy as secular saints, and mourning rites revived by Native Americans forcibly removed from the American Southeast. To capture the manifold forms of southern haunting and horror, Undead Souths explores a variety of media and historical periods, establishes cultural crossings between the South and other regions within and outside of the U.S., and employs diverse theoretical and critical approaches. The result is an engaging and inclusive collection that chronicles the enduring connection between southern culture and the refusal of the dead to stay dead.
American Southern Gothic Literature presents one of the few book-length surveys of the genre available today, in a diverse collection of representative texts from a group of international critics. In addition to exemplary novels from established writers, such as Edora Welty, Flannery O'Conner, Carson McCullers, and Cormac McCarthy, works explored here include poetry, a play, and a fairy tale novella. this volume, part of the Critical Insights series, offers a collection of original essays that will establish for students and their teachers an exemplary representation of the genre Southern Gothic as a field of study within American literature.
Modern Gothic culture alternately fascinates, horrifies, or bewilders many of us. We cringe at pictures of Marilyn Manson, cheer for Buffy in Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and try not to stare at the pierced and tattooed teens we pass on the streets. But what is it about this dark and morbidly morose aesthetic that fascinates us today? In Contemporary Gothic, Catherine Spooner probes the reasons behind the prevalence of the Gothic in popular culture and how it has inspired innovative new work in film, literature, music, and art. Spooner traces the emergence of the Gothic subculture over the past few decades and examines the various aspects of contemporary society that revolve around the grotesque, abject, and artificial. The Gothic is continually resituated in different spheres of culture, she reveals, as she explores the transplantation of the “street” Goth style to haute couture runway looks by fashion designers. The Gothic also appears in a number of surprisingly diverse representations, and Spoonerconsiders them all, from the artistic excesses of Jake and Dinos Chapman to the fashions of Alexander McQueen, and from the mind-bending films of David Lynch to the abnormal postmodern subjects of Joel-Peter Witkin’s photography. In an engaging way, Contemporary Gothic argues that this style ultimately balances a number of contradictions—the grotesque and incorporeal, authentic self-expression and campiness, mass popularity and cult appeal, comfort and outrage—and these contradictions make the Gothic a crucial expression of contemporary cultural currents. Whether seeking to understand the stories behind the TV show Supernatural or to extract deeper meanings from modern literature, Contemporary Gothic is a lively and virtually unparalleled study of the modern Gothic sensibility that pervades popular culture today.
Table of Contents:
From Otranto to Yoknapatawpha: Faulkner's Gothic Heritage
Absalom, Absalom! Faust in Mississippi, or, The Fall of the House of Sutpen
The Sound and the Fury: The Freudian Dream, or, The Way to Dusty Death
Sartoris: The Haunted Hero, or, Come Sweet Death
Sanctuary: The Persecuted Maiden, or, Vice Triumphant
Light in August: Diana in Dixie, or, The Way of the Cross
Go Down, Moses: Paradise Lost, or, The Secret of the Ledgers
Intruder in the Dust: The Perilous Quest, or, The Secret of the Grave
Snopes: From Rags to Riches; The Knight of the Rueful Counteneance; The Revenger's Tragedy
From Yoknapatawpha to the World: Faulkner's Gothic Bequest.
Recognized as a major innovator in the weird story, H. P. Lovecraft (1890-1937) was an author whose influence was felt by nearly every writer of horror, fantasy, and science fiction in the second half of the twentieth century. Considered one of the leading writers of gothic horror, Lovecraft and his work continue to inspire writers today. In Lovecraft and Influence: His Predecessors and Successors, Robert H. Waugh has assembled essays that are vast in scope, ranging from the Bible through the Edwardian period and well into the present. This collection is devoted to authors whose work had an impact on Lovecraft--Alexander Pope, Jonathan Swift, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Edgar Allan Poe, and Lord Dunsany--and those who drew inspiration from him, including William S. Burroughs, Ramsey Campbell, Thomas Ligotti, and Stephen King. A fascinating anthology, Lovecraft and Influence will appeal to aficionados of classic horror, fantasy, and science fiction and those with an interest in modern authors whose works reflect and honor Lovecraft's enduring legacy.