Skip to main content

Glendale Community College Library Updates

Free Online Textbooks

In response to widespread college closures, several companies are temporarily providing free access to their textbook platforms through the end of May.

Librarians have worked through the Bookstore Textbook List to identify titles that are available through the Library's databases and through these companies during this crisis. Click on your division below to see if your textbook is available.

This information will continue to be updated as additional online collections become available.


We hope to locate free online access for as many textbooks as possible, but not all textbooks will be available. If your book is not available:

  • Students should contact their instructors for information about accessing their textbooks.
  • Faculty should fill out the Online Book Request Form. A librarian will search for online access to your book(s), including library reserves and other requested titles that are not on the Bookstore Textbook List.

Available Textbooks

Free Online Textbooks - Available Now!

Free Online Textbooks Available Now 

To access these textbooks, you will need to create a free account or log in, depending on the platform.

Textbooks by Division

Not sure what division your class falls under? Check out our list of departments by division

VitalSource

Make a VitalSource Account
VitalSource is providing temporary free textbook access through May 25th, 2020. You can access up to 7 free online textbooks.

Registration Instructions:

  1. Go to https://bookshelf.vitalsource.com and create a VitalSource account using your Glendale email address. You must use your Glendale email address to get access to this resource.
  2. Check your email account for a verification email.
  3. Click the link in your email to finish signing up.
  4. Once you're signed in, click on the link for your book, or search for your book in the search bar at the top of the screen.
  5. Click on the picture of the book, and then click "borrow."
  6. You'll see a notification that reads "This book has been added to My Library." Click "Open Book" to read your book. There are options to print, bookmark, and virtually highlight the pages. There is also an app available, which you can learn about on the site.
  7. You're all set! Just log in to your account whenever you need access to your textbook.

 

Need help? Watch the Getting Started With Bookshelf video or check the VitalSource Bookshelf Support page for more information.

RedShelf

Make a RedShelf Account
RedShelf is providing temporary free textbook access through May 25th, 2020. You can access up to 7 free online textbooks. 

Registration Instructions:

  1. Go to https://studentresponse.redshelf.com and make an account using your Glendale email address. You must use your Glendale email address to get access to this resource.
  2. Check your Glendale email account for a verification email.
  3. Click the link in your email to finish signing up.
  4. Once you're signed in, click on the link for your book, or search for it in the search bar at the top of the screen.
  5. When you see your book, click "View Details."
  6. Click "Add to My Shelf" and you will be redirected to your "My Shelf."
  7. Click "Start Reading" and the book will open up in your online browser. There are options to print, download portions of the book, bookmark, and highlight the pages.
  8. You're all set! Just log in to your account whenever you need access to your textbook.

 

Need help? Watch the RedShelf Tutorial Videos or check the RedShelf Solve page for more information.

OneSearch

OneSearch
OneSearch is the library's online search tool for searching and accessing books, ebooks, articles, and more.

Instructions:

1. Search OneSearch (or use the link provided to you) to find the book you need for your class.

2. If the book is available online it will say "Available Online":

3. Click on the title of the book to see which library database provides full-text access to the book. Then click the link under 'View Online':

4This will take you to the database that contains the ebook (for example, Ebook Central). If you are off-campus, you will see this login screen:

 

Faculty and staff will use the same username and password that they use for their GCC email account (do not include @glendale.edu in the username).

Students will use the same username and password that they use to sign in to Canvas.

5. After you login, you will be taken to the ebook:

You have the options to "Read Online" or "Download Book".

The Read Online option allows you to read the ebook directly in your internet browser without the need to download it first. You need to be connected to the internet to use this option.

The Download Book option allows you to download the ebook to use while off-line, but it requires more steps. See these instructions for downloading ebooks to a computer or mobile device: ProQuest Ebook Central download instructions.

Internet Archive

Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is providing free access to over 1.4 million ebooks until June 30, 2020 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Note: When you borrow an ebook from the Internet Archive, it will say that it is due in 14 days. You will be able to extend the due date until June 30, 2020, so that you can have access to the ebook for the entire Spring semester. See the FAQs for more information about access.


CC BY

This guide is licensed CC BY 4.0. You are free to copy, transform, and redistribute this material in any medium or format without asking permission.

Requested attribution statement: "Adapted from Glendale Community College Library Updates (CC BY 4.0)."

Glendale Community College | 1500 North Verdugo Road, Glendale, California 91208 | Tel: 818.240.1000 | 
GCC Home  © 2020 - Glendale Community College. All Rights Reserved. | POLICE 

chat loading...