Skip to Main Content

English - Daniels - Spring 2020

Research Assignment

Topic: Which is the "Best" Diet?

About This Assignment

Assignment Requirements

Suggested Keywords

To search the library catalog, try one of these suggested keywords:

  • fad diets
  • fad dieting
  • reducing diets
  • Paleo diet
  • Atkins diet
  • ketogenic diet
  • raw food diet
  • Mediterranean diet

To search a library database, use the terms above to find newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. To narrow your results list for more relevant articles, add an additional keyword or concept. The terms below are suggested to get you started on your search:

  • sustainable weight loss
  • cardiovascular disease
  • cancer risk
  • diabetes
  • longevity
  • macronutrients

Databases

The GCC Library's databases provide access to newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. You can find an A-Z list of the library's databases here. Start with one of the databases listed below to help you find articles related to your research topic. You can also access the library databases off-campus any day or time by following the instructions here

Tour of Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints is a similar resource to CQ Researcher in that it covers various salient topics in the news.  Opposing Viewpoints has a variety of types of sources such as newspaper, magazine, and scholarly articles among others.

The brief video below shows you the major features of the database as well as how to use the citation generator to capture a draft of the citation in MLA 8th edition format. Remember to proofread your citation for accuracy. Contact a librarian for additional help. 

Tour of Academic Search Complete

The Academic Search Complete database is a robust database covering a variety of topics and subject disciplines. Like ProQuest, the default search screen is the advanced search screen which allows you to use various features at one time. 

See the below brief video on a sample search of gentrification. The following features,searching in the Abstract field, limiting to items published after 2010, and scholarly source types are shown in this video. Contact a librarian if you have questions. 

Tour of ProQuest

ProQuest is the largest subscription database at the GCC Library. The brief video is a sample search of the topic gentrification and south los angeles. Because the database is so large, try to search your topic in the field "Anywhere Except Fulltext" (which is a citation and abstract search) for more relevant sources. You will also see how you can select the following options: source types, date range, language; finally, the video will show you how to sort for most recent items and how to use the citation generator. Contact a librarian if you have questions or need help. 

Books

Videos

Kanopy - Paleo Diets and the Ancestral Appetite (32 minutes)

Kanopy - Hungry for Change (90 minutes)

Kanopy - Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead (98 minutes)

Glendale Community College | 1500 North Verdugo Road, Glendale, California 91208 | Tel: 818.240.1000 | 
GCC Home  © 2021 - Glendale Community College. All Rights Reserved. | POLICE 

chat loading...
chat loading...