It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business 162 - PRINCIPLES OF MARKETING - Cardona
Business Administration 162 is a principles of Marketing class intended for students of business administration or business owners interested in mastering the art of branding
With the introduction of the Internet, consumers are relying heavily on the media for content. The popularity of consumer-generated content (CGC) has captured the consumer (i.e., user) as the producer, which has cause a power shift in the market from the companies to the consumers. When technology is paired with culture, it is inevitable that consumers are constantly changing their attitudes toward consumption to adapt to current trends. Thus, marketers are meticulously looking for information to keep current with the consumer market in order to maintain their market share. CGC relates closely to electronic word-of-mouth (eWOM) and can be found in various online review sites, forums, blogs, company websites, as well as on social media platforms. Consumers' contribution toward the content on the different digital media sites (including company's website) is on voluntary basis, either paid (e.g., sponsored) or nonpaid (e.g., personal blogs). It is evident that information that is published online travels faster to consumers than when delivered through traditional media such as television. Companies are therefore trying to be proactive; and as part of their promotional efforts, they are turning to online media for the latest information on their target market, feedback on their company (e.g., criticism, praises), as well as information on their competitors. The goal of this book is to educate business owners, marketing practitioners, students, as well as marketing researchers in understanding the use of CGC and how it is beneficial for their marketing plan.
This book is for managers and would-be managers who need to upgrade their knowledge of digital marketing. Told from the perspective of marketing strategy, it puts digital marketing in the context of firm strategy selection. The first step in digital marketing is to understand your company and your brand. The next step is to put content and keywords on your web and mobile sites so that they can be found in search. Then use the delivery platforms of digital content, e-mail, social, and mobile, to deploy that content to the customer. The final topics in the book focus on the importance of data management and privacy as well as the emerging roles of analytics, artificial intelligence and marketing automation. Without quality data, no digital marketing program can be successful. This data can then be used in data analytics applications for predictive modeling. After reading this book, the reader will have a good idea of where to start on the path to an integrated digital marketing management strategy. Each chapter concludes with a list of action steps or "what to do next" to get started on implementing a digital marketing strategy as well as review questions and key terminology.
The price we pay for the new strategies in database marketing that closely track desirable customers, offering them benefits in return for personal information. We have all been to Web sites that welcome us by name, offering us discounts, deals, or special access to content. For the most part, it feels good to be wanted--to be valued as a customer. But if we thought about it, we might realize that we've paid for this special status by turning over personal information to a company's database. And we might wonder whether other customers get the same deals we get, or something even better. We might even feel stirrings of resentment toward customers more valued than we are. In Niche Envy, Joseph Turow examines the emergence of databases as marketing tools and the implications this may have for media, advertising, and society. If the new goal of marketing is to customize commercial announcements according to a buyer's preferences and spending history--or even by race, gender, and political opinions--what does this mean for the twentieth-century tradition of equal access to product information, and how does it affect civic life? Turow shows that these marketing techniques are not wholly new; they have roots in direct marketing and product placement, widely used decades ago and recently revived and reimagined by advertisers as part of "customer relationship management" (known popularly as CRM). He traces the transformation of marketing techniques online, on television, and in retail stores. And he describes public reaction against database marketing--pop-up blockers, spam filters, commercial-skipping video recorders, and other ad-evasion methods. Polls show that the public is nervous about giving up personal data. Meanwhile, companies try to persuade the most desirable customers to trust them with their information in return for benefits. Niche Envy tracks the marketing logic that got us to this uneasy impasse.
Digital Marketing Guide for Start-up Entrepreneurs is a practical, step-by-step guide that will help budding entrepreneurs in setting up and executing their digital marketing strategy from scratch to achieve the goals they have set for their start-ups. Topics covered in this book include search engine optimization, content marketing, social media marketing, search engine marketing, and online reputation management are essential for entrepreneurs to learn and master for the success of their start-up. The author guides entrepreneurs in establishing a digital presence of their startups to jet fuel their business growth. He brings in real-life examples and insights gained from executing digital marketing strategies for start-ups and small businesses. This book is perfect for start-up entrepreneurs, founders, marketers, and small business owners who are unaware of digital marketing concepts and how to use digital marketing for their advantage. It will give them practical tips on applying digital marketing to increase their brand awareness and sales-a concise book that can be completed quickly. The text serves as a reference guide for start-up entrepreneurs, to which they can always come back to while setting up and executing their digital marketing strategy.
Everyday businesses of all sizes are generating a fraction of the potential website return on investment (ROI) and broader marketing value for their business. The largest part of this opportunity wastage comes from overlooked marketing potential, plus an inability to take immediate action based on competing time demands and budget restraints. 30-Minute Website Marketing: A Step By Step Guide utilizes over 15 years of website marketing experience and digital expertise to empower businesses to identify and act on untapped website success. With all actions taking 30 minutes or less, companies can work towards improving the results gained from their website marketing efforts, and by adhering to the practical steps in this book, businesses can be confident that those 30 minutes provide the returns on resource investment needed. Through this guide, Lee Wilson delivers impactful, instant value to the broader marketing and targeted website marketing field, with practical help, direction, and expert step-by-step advice for marketing professionals, business owners, entrepreneurs, and start-up organisations.
Highly Effective Marketing Analytics infuses analytics into marketing to help improve marketing performance and raise analytics IQ for companies that have not yet had much success with marketing analytics. The book reveals why marketing analytics has not yet kept the promise and clarifies confusions and misunderstanding surrounding marketing analytics. Highly Effective Marketing Analytics is a highly practical and pragmatic how-to book. The author illustrates step by step many innovative, practical, and cost-effective methodologies to solving the most challenging real-world problems facing marketers in today's highly competitive omnichannel environment.
Expert advice on writing effective copy, faster, for all businesses. Coming up with the right words can make a significant difference to your results - this book shows you how. Contains templates for 13 of the most common copywriting tasks. Advice, short-cut tips and insights by a leading copywriting expert. The bible for anyone - marketing and sales staff, managers, entrepreneurs, etc - who needs fast copy. It's OK knowing the theory, but when it's 9am and you have just been given until lunchtime to write some copy for a new sales email, landing page, press ad or brochure, what you really need is a shortcut. This book takes the grind out of planning and writing almost any type of copy by providing step-by-step advice on the best layouts, approaches and styles to suit everything from an email subject line to recruitment ad, direct mail letter or website. Prepared by one of the best copywriters in the B2B sector, this book also provides the reader with templates for 13 of the most common copywriting tasks for maximum effectiveness and speed.
This book discusses qualitative research modeling and new approaches of qualitative data collection, interpretation of results, reporting, and deriving managerial implications. Qualitative research manages the fundamental challenge in interpreting the complexities associated with consumer behavior, particularly in large diversified marketplace and guides managers towards understanding consumers. This book discusses qualitative research modeling and new approaches of qualitative data collection, interpretation of results, reporting, and deriving managerial implications. Discussions in the book present new insights on conducting and applying qualitative market research and emphasizes on the application of qualitative research in consumer-centric companies. The book argues that companies need to consider a broader perspective of marketing research to support marketing decisions derived by understanding consumer behavior using qualitative research methodology.
Marketing Print Books
Students may check out print books from the library. Learn more.
#1 Wall Street Journal Bestseller Instant New York Times Bestseller A game-changing approach to marketing, sales, and advertising. Seth Godin has taught and inspired millions of entrepreneurs, marketers, leaders, and fans from all walks of life, via his blog, online courses, lectures, and bestselling books. He is the inventor of countless ideas that have made their way into mainstream business language, from Permission Marketing to Purple Cow to Tribes to The Dip. Now, for the first time, Godin offers the core of his marketing wisdom in one compact, accessible, timeless package. This is Marketing shows you how to do work you're proud of, whether you're a tech startup founder, a small business owner, or part of a large corporation. Great marketers don't use consumers to solve their company's problem; they use marketing to solve other people's problems. Their tactics rely on empathy, connection, and emotional labor instead of attention-stealing ads and spammy email funnels. No matter what your product or service, this book will help you reframe how it's presented to the world, in order to meaningfully connect with people who want it. Seth employs his signature blend of insight, observation, and memorable examples to teach you: * How to build trust and permission with your target market. * The art of positioning--deciding not only who it's for, but who it's not for. * Why the best way to achieve your goals is to help others become who they want to be. * Why the old approaches to advertising and branding no longer work. * The surprising role of tension in any decision to buy (or not). * How marketing is at its core about the stories we tell ourselves about our social status. You can do work that matters for people who care. This book shows you the way.
This book brings order to the chaotic and rapidly evolving world of influencer marketing by providing readers with much needed context, frameworks, and best practices. Written for busy marketing professionals working in both domestic and international markets, it addresses these topics in a highly actionable and engaging manner. Digital Influence covers everything from how to identify the right influencers and determine "level of influence" to collaborating with influencers and measuring ROI. It turns out, it's not all about paying online celebrities outrageous sums to post sponsored content. Backaler also provides much-needed context for why influencer marketing is flourishing today, and perspective into what a more technologically-enabled, globally-connected future will look like. Ultimately, people want to learn from trusted peers, not faceless companies. Better than any corporate marketing function, influencers understand how to make best use of social media platforms and tailor content for their respective cultures to engage consumers in their home markets. Business leaders should arm themselves with Backaler's book to ensure they're not left behind.