ENGL 102 - Stewart - Spring 2024

LOCATION: ONLINE

The Literary Theory Handbook introduces students to the history and scope of literary theory, showing them how to perform literary analysis, and providing a greater understanding of the historical contexts for different theories. Includes: Culture/Ethnicities/Nations/Locations, Mind/Body/Gender/Identity, Form/Structure/Narrative/Genre and Key Figures and Terms.

LOCATION: ONLINE

The Routledge Companion to Critical and Cultural Theory is an indispensible guide for anyone approaching the field for the first time. Includes: Marxism Trauma Theory Ecocriticism Psychoanalysis Feminism Posthumanism Gender and Queer Theory Structuralism Narrative Postcolonialism Deconstruction Postmodernism.

LOCATION: ONLINE

American Literary Criticism Since the 1930s provides a critical history of American literary theory and practice, discussing the impact of major schools and movements examines the social and cultural background to literary research, considering the role of key theories and practices provides profiles of major figures and influential texts, outlining the connections among theorists presents a new chapter on developments since the 1980s, including discussions of feminist, queer, postcolonial and ethnic criticism.

LOCATION: ONLINE

In her analysis Pulitano confronts key issues and questions: Is a distinctive way of reading and interpreting Native texts possible or needed? What is the relation between a Native American critical discourse and a more general postcolonial critical theory?

LOCATION: ONLINE

Salem Press' Critical Approaches to Literature explores multicultural approaches to a wide range of literature. It defines multiculturalism in very broad terms, using it to refer not only to different ethnic and racial cultures but also to different historical periods, and exploring cultural differences involving such matters as physical disability, sexual orientation, particular social roles, distinct stages of life, and specific kinds of language usage.

LOCATION: PRINT/IN LIBRARY BUILDING

This reference guide to Asian writers covers authors whose works have been translated into the English language. Each author entry includes full biographical information, as well as excerpts from literary criticism and sources for further study.

LOCATION: PRINT/IN LIBRARY BUILDING

The "definitive," contemporary reference on literature and literary criticism in English, this handbook provides an alphabetical listing of more than 2,000 important terms and facts in literature, linguistics, rhetoric, criticism, printing, bookselling, and information technology. Covers a wide range of terms, most centered in literature, but extending into other areas, such as film, radio, TV, printing, linguistics and literary theory, music, graphic arts, classical studies, and computing and information science terms. For anyone interested in literature and literary criticism.

LOCATION: ONLINE

This Guide for the Perplexed provides an advanced introduction to literary theory from basic information and orientation for the uninformed leading on to more sophisticated readings. Includes: humanism; structuralism; poststructuralism; psychoanalytic approaches; feminist approaches; queer theory; ideology and discourse; new historicism; race and postcolonialism; postmodernism. The final chapter points to new directions in literary and cultural theory.

LOCATION: ONLINE

Browse by theory or search within the book using "Read Online" > Search within the book box. Includes: definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography.

LOCATION: ONLINE

Browse for theories or search within the book using keywords. Includes: Marxist and feminist criticism to post-modernism and new historicism; the latest developments in post-colonial and cultural theory literature and sexuality the latest schools of thought, including eco-criticism and post-humanism the future of literary theory and criticism.

LOCATION: ONLINE
Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, etc. Browse for literary theories by topic.

LOCATION: ONLINE

Ways of Readingis a well-established core textbook that provides the reader with the tools to analyze and interpret the meanings of literary and non-literary texts. Includes: techniques and problem-solving language variation, narrative, media performance, and poetic form.

LOCATION: PRINT/IN LIBRARY BUILDING

A wide-ranging and refreshingly up-to-date anthology of primary readings, Critical Theory: A Reader for Literary and Cultural Studies, edited by Robert Dale Parker, presents a provocative mix of contemporary and classic essays in critical theory. From the foundational ideas of Marx and Freud to key writings by Fanon and Foucault, the essays in this collection represent the most influential ideas in modern critical thought and in the contemporary interpretation of literature and culture. Ideal as a stand-alone reader or as a companion to a critical theory survey - including How to Interpret Literature: Critical Theory for Literary and Cultural Studies, also by Robert Dale Parker - this collection of seminal readings invites students to join in the ongoing debates and controversies of critical discussion, reading, writing, and interpretation.

Location: PRINT/IN LIBRARY BUILDING

I.R. Makaryk has compiled a welcome guide to the field. Accessible and jargon-free, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory provides lucid, concise explanations of myriad approaches to literature that have arisen over the past forty years. Some 170 scholars from around the world have contributed their expertise to this volume. Their work is organized into three parts. In Part I, forty evaluative essays examine the historical and cultural context out of which new schools of and approaches to literature arose. The essays also discuss the uses and limitations of the various schools, and the key issues they address. Part II focuses on individual theorists. It provides a more detailed picture of the network of scholars not always easily pigeonholed into the categories of Part I. This second section analyses the individual achievements, as well as the influence, of specific scholars, and places them in a larger critical context. Part III deals with the vocabulary of literary theory. It identifies significant, complex terms, places them in context, and explains their origins and use.

LOCATION: PRINT/IN LIBRARY BUILDING

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism has become the indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. The long-awaited second edition includes 48 new entries and subentries and has been revised throughout, taking account of ten years of rapidly changing scholarship.