Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chaparral 2022-2023: 31.1 Milestones

John Lynch

John Lynch (English) got his short film made during Covid (he missed the whole shoot because he tested positive the day before it started!). It is being edited in England and will soon hit the festival circuit.

Jeanette Farr-Harkins

Partnering with CSU, Stanislaus, Jeanette Farr-Harkins (Theatre Arts) had the opportunity to visit Scotland through the International Collegiate Theatre Festival (IGTF). GCC Theatre was represented through handing out swag and speaking on panels for participating high school and college students on the University of Edinburgh campus. It was her first time sampling haggis and Irn-Bru, and the weather was fantastic. The Military Tattoo was an amazing study in performance, lighting cues, and spectacle. Thanks to the Division Conference Funds Committee for support in this valuable research.

Jeanette Farr-Harkins milestones Sept. 2022

Reut Cohen Schorr

Reut Cohen Schorr (Journalism) is thrilled to announce the 13th(!) issue of The Insider. This is a magazine project of the Journalism Department, which is supported by our Language Arts Division. The magazine came together thanks to stories from across disciplines on campus, including Social Sciences, English, Dance, Athletics, Language Arts, and more. The Summer/Fall 2022 issue includes student reporting on our recent in-person graduation, GCC's feats in Athletics, CalFresh ambassador support to our community, DSPS support to students in the remote learning space, a feature on the founder of Women's History Month, an interview with our first Pulitzer Center Consortium fellow, and more. The magazine is available in limited print copies in the newsstand outside of Sierra Vista 130 this Fall semester. I especially want to thank and acknowledge Athletics, the Office of Communications, and ASGCC for helping this magazine truly shine.

You can view a digital copy here: bit.ly/GCCInsider2022

David Crawford

Taking RoootDavid Crawford’s (Multicultural & Community Engagement Center) full-length play, Taking Root, is a part of Moving Arts Theatre's MADLab First Look Reading Series, and there will be an in-person performance on October 1, 2022, at 3 PM. Synopsis: As one brother tries to free himself from the neighborhood that both defines and confines him, the other is desperate to find his place back at home. All the while, their Mother's last wishes have tied them together at the corner store.

Purchase tickets here: https://app.arts-people.com/index.php?show=143754

Stephen Shade

Steve Shade’s (English) play Time-Peace was selected for the recently-published edition of Smith & Kraus’s The Best Ten-Minute Plays 2022, his writing having been anthologized in two prior collections: The Best Men’s Stage Monologues 2021 and The Best Women’s Stage Monologues. He just completed a book based on his eight years’ experience producing The Blank Slate Project, creating performance work with/for incarcerated youth in Juvenile Corrections. The book, In the Place We Don’t Call Home, includes several dozen of his original plays and monologues.

Deborah Diehl

Sub/TerrainDeborah Diehl (Media Arts) has video, photography, and installations on view from September 20th – October 27th in the Subterrain Show at the Gresham Gallery at SBVC.

I have video, photography and installations on view from September 20 - October 27th in the Subterrain Show at the Gresham Gallery at SBVC.

Arpine Ovsepyan

Arpine O September 2022 milestonesArpine Ovsepyan (Continuing Education) received her Graduate Technical Writing and College Online Writing Certificate from Bowling Green State University.

As a former GCC Scholars student and current Associate Adjunct Professor for the Garfield campus, Arpine is delighted to share this accomplishment since many of her professors at GCC helped kindle her love for higher education back in 1997.

From GCC, she attended UC Irvine and Cal State Northridge where she earned:

  • Bachelor’s degree in English
  • Teaching and Administrative credentials
  • First Master’s degree in Educational Administration

Since then, she has been working full-time for GUSD and part-time for GCC. She is happy to report that she was able to earn straight A’s in her studies and was inducted into a variety of prestigious honors associations including Epsilon Pi Tau. Her final thesis was on Covid-19 and the role the media played in spreading fact versus fiction. It is her hope to come back to the Verdugo campus and teach in the English department where she can share her expertise with the next generation.

Gerardo Monterrubio

LACMAGerardo Monterrubio’s (Ceramics) work is currently on view as part of an exhibition at LACMA, Conversing in Clay: Ceramics from the LACMA Collection.

As part of that programing, Gerardo recently presented a lecture about the relationship of his work to some of the objects in the permanent collection.

The event was titled “Conversing with Collections: New Spins on Ceramics, Gerardo Monterrubio.”

Tsoleen Tania Feghali

Tsoleen Tania Feghali (English) has returned to teach as an adjunct in the English Division. She used to teach in the department back in 2017. Since then, she has gotten married and has a three-year old daughter. Tsoleen is eager to return to the GCC community as an English instructor, but also as a new member of the California Real Estate Association. She currently helps clients buy, sell, and rent houses, specifically helping educators, like herself, get into their dream homes.

Tsoleen September 2022 milestones

Heather Ramos

In August, Bloomsbury published The Bloomsbury Handbook to the Medical-Environmental Humanities edited by Scott Slovic, Swarnalatha Rangarajan, and Vidya Sarveswaran. The Handbook includes an essay written by Heather Ramos (English) titled "Slow Violence, Environmental Toxins, and Systemic Racism: Revisiting Lorde's Cancer Journals in the Twenty-First Century," which examines the significance of Lorde's text in diagnosing how systemic racism fuels health and environmental inequities and argues that Lorde's theorizing of medical and environmental humanities connects to contemporary social movements like Black Lives Matter.

Laura Matsumoto

Laura Matsumoto (Kinesiology) contributed to the Women Coaches Community Newsletter of the United Soccer Coaches Association with her piece, “United in the Beautiful Game.”

Joanna Parypinski

On October 11th, Joanna Parypinski’s (English) next novel, When the Night Bells Ring, will be released. It is currently available for pre-order wherever books are sold. She’ll be participating in the following local events as part of the book’s release:

  • Horror reading at the Village Well Books & Coffee, Sunday, October 2 at 3:00 PM (9900 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232)
  • Book signing at Dark Delicacies, Saturday, October 15 at 3:00 PM (822 N Hollywood Way, Burbank, CA 91505)

Synopsis:

In a future ravaged by fire and drought, two climate refugees ride their motorcycles across the wasteland of the western US, and stumble upon an old silver mine. Descending into the cool darkness of the caved-in tunnels in desperate search of water, the two women find Lavinia Cain’s diary, a settler in search of prosperity who brought her family to Nevada in the late 1860s.

But Lavinia and the settlers of the Western town discovered something monstrous that dwells in the depths of the mine, something that does not want greedy prospectors disturbing the earth. Whispers of curses and phantom figures haunt the diary, and now, over 150 years later, trapped and injured in the abandoned mine, the women discover they’re not alone… with no easy way out.

The monsters are still here—and they’re thirsty.

Glendale Community College | 1500 North Verdugo Road, Glendale, California 91208 | Tel: 818.240.1000  
GCC Home  © 2022 - Glendale Community College. All Rights Reserved. 

chat loading...
chat loading...