Remember that when you access any of the library's databases off campus, you will be asked to login by using your student ID and password. All library databases are accessed using the same login information as you do for Canvas.
If you get stuck, send the library an email anytime to firstname.lastname@example.org (response time will depend on whether the library is open when the email is received) or chat with a librarian during regular business hours:
Mondays-Thursdays: 8am - 9pm
Fridays and Saturdays: 10am - 2pm
Electronic Books on Transgender Topics at the GCC Library
The story of Christine Jorgensen, America's first prominent transsexual, famously narrated trans embodiment in the postwar era. Her celebrity, however, has obscured other mid-century trans narratives--ones lived by African Americans such as Lucy Hicks Anderson and James McHarris. Their erasure from trans history masks the profound ways race has figured prominently in the construction and representation of transgender subjects. In Black on Both Sides, C. Riley Snorton identifies multiple intersections between blackness and transness from the mid-nineteenth century to present-day anti-black and anti-trans legislation and violence. Drawing on a deep and varied archive of materials--early sexological texts, fugitive slave narratives, Afro-modernist literature, sensationalist journalism, Hollywood films--Snorton attends to how slavery and the production of racialized gender provided the foundations for an understanding of gender as mutable.
Being Transgender in America examines how people who are transgender--who have a gender identity that doesn't match their sex assigned at birth--have experiences that are unique compared to those of the rest of the population. Features include a glossary, further readings, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.
Provides the most up-to-date information on transgender science and its applications, for gender-diverse people, their supporters, and the professionals who assist them to lead healthy, happy, and successful lives. * Covers the full spectrum of current knowledge on trans* health and issues * Surveys transgender history and defines transgender terminology * Addresses new developments for young and elder transgender people * Includes copious footnotes and references * Lists further resources available online and on social media
The Queer and Transgender Resilience Workbook will teach you how to challenge internalized negative messages, handle stress, build a community of support, and embrace your true self. In this important workbook, you'll discover how to cultivate the key components of resilience: holding a positive view of yourself and your abilities; knowing your worth and cultivating a strong sense of self-esteem; effectively utilizing resources; being assertive and creating a support community; fostering hope and growth within yourself, and finding the strength to help others. Once you know how to tap into your personal resilience, you'll have an unlimited well you can draw from to navigate everyday challenges. By learning to challenge internalized negative messages and remove obstacles from your life, you can build the resilience you need to embrace your truest self in an imperfect world.
The author seeks to counterbalance the prevailing medicalised approach to statutory support for transgender people which tends to focus on the physical processes of transition rather than on subsequent social role adjustment. Kate Norman relates her own research findings to additional data and publications within three main themes: first, the provision of social support to transgender people by dedicated and generic social care services; secondly, social care issues in relation to transgender identity and transgender status, including discrimination, transphobia and mental health issues; and, thirdly, the effect of 'coming out' as transgender, and of transitioning, on relationships between transgender people and their families and friends, colleagues, neighbours and the wider community.
After explaining 'What is transgender?' this first book on transgender in a prison setting looks at the entire HM Prison Service regime for such people. Ranging from hard information about rules and regulations, the transition process and how to access it to practical suggestions about clothing, wigs and hairpieces, make-up and coming out, the book also deals with such matters as change of name, gender identity clinics, hormones, medication and use of prison showers and toilets. Covering the entire transition process the book contains contributions from a number of transgender prisoners as well as extracts from reports showing how those in transition still tend to attract a negative portrayal. Also included are the special security implications of related procedures and descriptions of the attitudes to transgender inmates of other prisoners and staff. It contains a number of appendices dealing with the latest 2016 HM Prison Service Instruction on transgender prisoners and a range of support mechanisms including a list of specialists in the field and other useful reference sources and contacts. It also contains Sarah Jane Baker's account of her own male-to-female transition and the difficulties she has faced behind bars.
Three volumes organized by the three phases of life--youth, middle age, and old age--explore the LGBTQ+ experience, delving deeply into research on a multitude of hot topics including risks experienced by this sometimes targeted population. * More than forty topics in three volumes are timely and in the news * Each topic is evaluated by academic authorities * References are authoritative and include primary resources * Contributors embrace and reflect the diversity found in the LGBTQ+ community
If you've ever questioned the logic of basing an entire identity around what you have between your legs, it's time to embark on a daring escape outside of the binary box... Open your eyes to what it means to be a boy or a girl -- and above and beyond! Within these pages, you get to choose which path to forge. Explore over one hundred different scenarios that embrace nearly every definition across the world, over history, and in the ever-widening realms of our imagination!
Daring new theories of masculinity, built from a large and geographically diverse interview study of transgender men American masculinity is being critiqued, questioned, and reinterpreted for a new era. In Men in Place Miriam J. Abelson makes an original contribution to this conversation through in-depth interviews with trans men in the U.S. West, Southeast, and Midwest, showing how the places and spaces men inhabit are fundamental to their experiences of race, sexuality, and gender. Men in Place explores the shifting meanings of being a man across cities and in rural areas. Here Abelson develops the insight that individual men do not have one way to be masculine--rather, their ways of being men shift between different spaces and places. She reveals a widespread version of masculinity that might be summed up as "strong when I need to be, soft when I need to be," using the experiences of trans men to highlight the fundamental construction of manhood for all men
Gender blending or transgenderism is sexuality's newest cutting edge. The term transgender covers pre-operative and post-operative transsexuals, transvestites, drag queens, gender benders and all gender blenders, whether straight or gay, who in their cross-dressing and sex-changing transgress gender roles.-- 1997 edition from Google Books
Comprehensive in scope and accessible to students and general readers, "Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States" explores contemporary American LGBTQ literature and its social, political, cultural, and historical contexts. Included are several hundred alphabetically arranged entries written by expert contributors. Students of literature and popular culture will appreciate the encyclopedia's insightful survey and discussion of LGBTQ authors and their works, while students of history and social issues will value the encyclopedia's use of literature to explore LGBTQ American society. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and lists additional sources of information. To further enhance study and understanding, the encyclopedia closes with a selected general bibliography of print and electronic resources for student research.
This new edition in the Great Events series chronicles important historical events that have identified, defined, and legally established the rights of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities. In the last ten years alone, the world has witnessed significant events that have broken down barriers, both socially and legally, making enormous strides to end discrimination against the LGBTQ community.
In recent years, there has been substantial progress on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) civil rights in the United States. We are now, though, in a time of incredible political uncertainty for queer people. LGBTQ Social Movements provides an accessible introduction to mainstream LGBTQ movements in the US, illustrating the many forms that LGBTQ activism has taken since the mid-twentieth century. Covering a range of topics, including the Stonewall uprising and gay liberation, AIDS politics, queer activism, marriage equality fights, youth action, and bisexual and transgender justice, Lisa M. Stulberg explores how marginalized people and communities have used a wide range of political and cultural tools to demand and create change. The five key themes that guide the book are assimilationism and liberationism as complex strategies for equality, the limits and possibilities of legal change, the role of art and popular culture in social change, the interconnectedness of social movements, and the role of privilege in movement organizing.
While medical identification and treatment of gender dysphoria have existed for decades, the development of transgender as a "collective political identity" is a recent construct. Over the past twenty-five years, the transgender movement has gained statutory nondiscrimination protections at the state and local levels, hate crimes protections in a number of states, inclusion in a federal law against hate crimes, legal victories in the courts, and increasingly favorable policies in bureaucracies at all levels. It has achieved these victories despite the relatively small number of trans people and despite the widespread discrimination, poverty, and violence experienced by many in the transgender community. This is a remarkable achievement in a political system where public policy often favors those with important resources that the transgender community lacks: access, money, and voters.
Trans People in Love provides a forum for the experience of being in love and in relationships with significant others for members of the trans community. This honest and respectful volume tells clinicians, scholars,and trans people themselves of the beauty and complexity that trans identity brings to a romantic relationship, what skills and mindsets are needed to forge positive relationships, and demonstrates the reality that trans people in all stages of transition can create stable and loving relationships that are both physically and emotionally fulfilling.
You've Changed examines the philosophical questions raised by the phenomenon of sex reassignment, and brings together the essays of scholars known for their work in gender, sexuality, queer, and disability studies, feminist epistemology and science studies, and philosophical accounts of personal identity.
Comprehensively answers many questions about being transgender with current experiential and scientific information, including the evidence for a biological transgender predisposition. Written by a transgender person who is also a physiological psychologist, this book is for general readers and explains what is known about transgender causation, what life as a transgendered individual is like, and the science involved in living a transgender life. Offers information derived from the author's review of more than 3,000 source articles and books across 22 scientific disciplines across more than 11 years--a repository of information that is likely the most comprehensive on transgender science.
Although the historic majority opinion of Obergefell v. Hodges legalized same-sex marriage nationwide and the military has moved toward a "gender neutral" enlistment policy, how LGBTQ people maneuver American society continues to get worked out at every level --in schools, in courts and in the popular culture. Issues that will be explored in this title include the role of non-traditional same-sex families, and expanded protections for transgender people under the framework of civil rights. As conservative governors sue the federal government and try to block what they call a "massive social experiment" in school bathrooms and locker rooms, and states deal with the attendant backlash, LGBTQ activists continue to force a national conversation on gender identity.