Garfield Library | Career Research: Resumes and Cover Letters

Based on todays real-world job search trends, Modernize Your Resume shows you how to craft a winning resume to meet the complexities of todays highly competitive and technologically driven employment market. The entire job search process is evolving at a remarkably rapid pace, and your resume is at the foundation of it all. In this book, youll learn to: * Write tight, lean, clean, and laser-focused content to keep your reader engaged. Focus on information that is relevant and integrate keywords that are vital to being found online. * Create a distinctive design to make your resume stand out and capture attention. Getting noticed is step #1, so make that happen and youre on your way. * Understand how to use todays modern resume for both person-to-person job search as well as electronic, digital, and mobile search technologies. * The 80+ resume samples demonstrate these strategies in action for real-life job seekers whove excelled in their search campaigns. The samples showcase the resume writing work of Enelow, Kursmark, and many of their colleagues who are also well respected for their expertise in resume strategy, writing, format, and design. Clear guidelines and easy-to-follow examples give you practical know-how for building your own powerful resume that will serve all of your job search needs. Youll learn what works, why it works, and how you can make it work for you. The resume book weve all been waiting for from resume industry leaders Wendy Enelow and Louise Kursmark. Rich Feller, Past President, National Career Development Association

In today's highly competitive workforce, it is imperative that you stand out from your peers and showcase your brand. You never get a second chance to make a first impression, so putting your best foot forward is of utmost importance. The value of a great-looking resume extends far beyond the finished product and into the actual job-search process itself. In identifying and refining pertinent skills, goals, and career objectives, we begin to learn more about who we are and what we want to do. Author Marcia F. Robinson, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, uses her more than fifteen years of experience to shed light onto what employers are looking for when hiring. Her step-by-step instructions, best practices, and action items help to ensure that your resume is presented in the way human resource professionals want to see it. Robinson's guide includes sixty FAQs that are crucial to consider when writing your resume, valuable keywords, a powerful exercise to help identify your strengths and areas for professional development, and a master checklist. "Resume Guide "is an essential tool for the college student prepping for graduation, the recent alumni looking for his or her first job, or anyone writing their first resume. "

You are a young adult graduating from college, a military veteran getting out of the service, a seasonal professional who hasn't looked for a job in decades. You are a prisoner readying for parole, an immigrant landing on American soil, a young teen graduating from high school. You were laid off!!! You don't even know what a resume looks like. How do you begin? Do you need useful help? Yes, you do. You need a super, outstanding, winning resume today! A powerful resume that's easy and simple enough that you can write it yourself. A valuable, good-looking resume that wins you interviews fast! A free resume that costs you nothing but your time. You need Super Man's Resume: A Beginner's Guide to Resume Writing and Beyond. A job hunting guide for beginner's that is written by a resume writing professional. Chuck full of easy, useful and valuable strategies that teach you how to write a resume, cover letter, thank you note, and more!!! Look it's a bird. It's a plane.(c) No, it's you, Super Man!! You are our new Job Hunting Hero! You can fly now too, Superman(c). Buy your indispensable job hunting guide to resume writing today!

Are You using the Right Keywords to Win the Job? Every time you respond to a job posting or upload your resume, it is put through an Applicant Tracking System (ATS) that scans for keywords for the targeted position. If your resume doesn't contain the right keywords, you're out of the running. Once you've passed the ATS, those same keywords are just as important to demonstrate that you speak the language of employers and have the skills and qualifications they seek. The specific words you use in your resumes, letters, and job interviews can make the critical difference between being hired or rejected for the job. The Best Keywords for Resumes, Letters, and Interviews is the most comprehensive and authoritative guide to keywords for job seekers. Organized by major industries and professions, this easy-to-use book provides quick access to the keywords that are essential to the job you are targeting. Each chapter includes examples of: Keywords, Keyword Resumes, Keyword Phrases, Keyword Letters, Keyword Answers to Interview Questions, A special chapter focuses on job seekers who are changing careers, transitioning from military to civilian, returning to work after extended periods of unemployment have a job-hopper history, or are facing other unique challenges. Be certain your resumes, cover letters, and interview answers include the many keywords identified in this book, authored by two of America's leading career experts-Wendy Enelow and Louise Kursmark, both of whom specialize in the language of job seekers and employers. Book jacket.

Cover letters that get noticed, get read, and get the interview! In the newest edition of his classic cover letter guide, job search expert Martin Yate shows you how to dramatically increase your chance of landing an interview. The key, as Yate explains, is to use language drawn from the job posting itself, words that will send your application to the top of database searches. In this completely updated guide, you'll find numerous sample cover letters, along with Yate's tried and proven methods to: Determine relevant keywords to get attention--and use them effectively Clearly display your personal brand and the transferable skills you bring to the job Find the right contact information that gets your material in front of decision-making managers and recruiters Use social media sites such as LinkedIn to create an effective online profile and build professional and personal networks With Martin Yate's expert advice, you'll create unique and compelling cover letters that will grab employers' attention and get you in the door!

Expert advice on building a resume to get the job you want! Your resume is the most important financial document you'll ever create. When it works, so do you. Drawing on more than thirty years of experience, bestselling author Martin Yate shows you how to write a dynamic, effective resume that: Stands out in a resume database Builds a strong personal brand employers will want on their team Passes recruiters' six-second scan test Speaks to exactly what employers are looking for The new edition of this classic guide includes dozens of sample resumes as well as cutting-edge advice on resume-writing tactics. With Knock 'em Dead Resumes, 12th Edition, you'll grab employers' attention--and score the job you want.

On the list of things you want to do in life, writing a resume is right up there with hitting yourself in the head with a hammer. Yet your resume is the most financially important document you will ever own. When your resume works, you work, and when it doesn't, you don't either. It's that simple. Knock 'em Dead Resume Templates shows you how to write a killer resume and includes 105 ready-to-use Microsoft Word resume templates. You get resume writing advice from a New York Times career bestseller, plus 105 Microsoft Word resume templates. this is a winning combination that doesn't exist anywhere else. Knock 'em Dead Resume Templates is unique. Martin Yate, CPC, knows how to write a resume that works. He shows you how employers think about, prioritize, and express their needs for your job. Then he shows you how to leverage these insights to write a killer resume that will be more discoverable in resume databases and will then speak clearly to the recruiters and hiring manages who read it. Martin shows you how to sell your skills with integrity. You get all the advice on resume writing from the latest Knock 'em Dead Resumes, plus 105 ready-to-use Microsoft Word resume templates. It's a combination that you can't beat. A killer resume is the foundation of every successful career, and the tactics in these pages will guide your success for years to come. Knock 'em Dead Resume Templates is the definitive resource for creating a resume that gets results and helps you reach that next step on your professional path. This winning combination doesn't exist anywhere else. Knock 'em Dead Resume Template is unique. The future is here-what are you going to do?

Unique in the world of job search books, Knock 'em Dead Job Search Letter Templates teaches you the latest tips and tactics for writing cover letters and job search letters for every job hunting challenge. In addition, you get 125 samples of different job search letters, and also 125 cover letter and job search letter templates, each ready to use in Microsoft Word format. The 125 cover letter and job search letter templates include: cover letters for recruiters, headhunters, hiring managers, and blind job postings; professional networking and LinkedIn connection request letters; telephone and face-to-face interview follow-up letters; negotiation, rejection, and reconnection letters; and finally, those glorious acceptance, resignation, and thank you letters. Written communication skills are a key requirement of every professional job today and represent an essential skill set that defines every successful professional career. Demonstrating effective written communication skills can add a whole new dimension to your candidacy: they help your resume get read with serious intent, and help your candidacy stand out throughout the selection cycle with demonstration of thoughtful written communication skills. The advice in Knock 'em Dead Job Search Letter Templates will give your job hunt powerful ammunition and help you improve the written communication skills you need to succeed in this job search and throughout your career. This book includes the text and letter samples from the latest edition of Knock 'em Dead Cover Letters, but also delivers something unique in the world of resume writing: 125 Microsoft Word letter templates, ready to use and move your job search forward. Is there a better resource for your needs than Martin Yate CPC and Knock 'em Dead?

It's amazing the misinformation found in most résumé books! Scott Bennett has hired hundreds of people in a variety of industries, and he knows firsthand what kind of résumé sparks an employer’s interest—and which ones fail. In The Elements of Résumé Style, he warns against popular “tricks” that tend to backfire—and instead shows readers how to craft clear, compelling, targeted résumés and cover letters that actually work. In this new edition, readers see that whether it’s on paper or online, the rules are the same: use clear, dynamic language—and keep it short and focused. Now covering social media, the online application process, and more, this indispensable guide provides: More than 1,400 action words, statements, and position descriptions that help sell your skills and experience • Hundreds of words, phrases, and vague claims to avoid • Advice for handling employment gaps, job-hopping, and requests for salary history and requirements • Sample résumés, response letter, inquiry letter, informational interview request letter, references, and more • Surprising tips for acing the interview Competition is intense no matter what your field, but this candid book’s time-tested tools will make you stand out—and help get you the job you deserve!

Now you can identify and effectively market your skills and abilities to land the job you want with BLUE COLLAR RESUMES, SECOND EDITION. One of the few books written by a Certified Professional Resume Writer (CPRW), this high-impact approach to expert resume writing and career marketing includes a special section of resume examples for military veterans returning to the workforce, as well as a free resume review by the author. The author applies his 20+ years in recruiting and expert resume writing to reveal the latest tips and strategies regarding social network sites such as LinkedIn, personal networking and interviewing to shorten your job search, advance your career and increase your income. This practical guide clearly demonstrates how to rise above the competition and advance your career. You'll discover what really works as Mr. Provenzano reveals the top secrets of today's professional resume experts.

Does your resume correspond to your LinkedIn profile? Have you simply recounted your work history in your resume, or have you "packaged" yourself to be seen the way you want to be seen? PACKAGING YOURSELF is the only book on the market that uses case studies to teach you the nuances of resume preparation, as well as how to combine it with your LinkedIn profile. The average resume is looked at for only ten seconds. Make yours stand out. Learn how to highlight your strengths and hide your weaknesses. Prepare a marketing piece that dynamically presents you just the way you want prospective employers to see you. Learn how to present yourself effectively on LinkedIn and other media. You'll learn to create an exciting resume that will, make the reader want to call you in for a meeting, and will guide the interviewing process and bring out the best points about yourself, develop the accomplishment statements that form the backbone of your resume, and write a summary that increases your chance of getting just the job you want.